Problems with laptop and router. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2008, 03:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Question Problems with laptop and router.

Hello everyone!! I have a gateway laptop and a linksys wireless router. My router has been working fine until 2 weeks ago. I had installed a bittorrent client and found out that my modem was actually working as a router as well so i had to tweak some settings in the router page 192.168.1.1, everything worked fine. 2 days ago i had a new internet provider install a new modem at my house and i tried to enter the configuration page for the linksys but it wont log on to the page, so i cant configure the router. The deal with my laptop is that it is connected to the network and has full signal, but somehow it is not connected to the internet. Its a gateway laptop with vista. I thought I might have to change the settings on my router on maybe some IP, etc. settings are wrong on my laptop. Help plz i really appreciate it.
__________________

juniorgamba is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 04:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Problems with laptop and router.

Hi, what model router an what model laptop are you using?
Also this thread might help you Wireless problems
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 04:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Problems with laptop and router.

If your missing your gateway address try the following...


192.168.0.1
192.168.0.2
192.168.1.1
192.168.2.1

Welcome to Tech-Forums !
Yek is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 04:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Problems with laptop and router.

Try what tkey said as well it might have a different IP from your last router.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 01:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Problems with laptop and router.

Thanks for replying guys, i really appreciate your help. However none of the ip adresses that were posted are working, i just get an error saying that the operation took too long and timed out. My router is a linksys WTR54g. As for that link, my problem is somewhat different, i have full signal on my laptop, and i can connect perfectly to the network, but somehow i cant connect to the internet. I have tried the solutions that windows offered but no success. I have also restarted the router with no success. My laptop is a gateway MT6705. Do you need any more info on anything? any help is appreciated.
juniorgamba is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 01:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Problems with laptop and router.

You say you can "connect to the network" what do you meen by this?

Try an ipconfig/all to see if it reveals any info. Once you get into router config you may realise your internet settings need setting up (Username Password etc)

Let me know...
Yek is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 01:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Problems with laptop and router.

Linksys have a reset button try that to, I know that sometimes a router will still broadcast a signal an allow you to connect to a internal device like a server or a NAS box but will not allow a connection to the internet. Also have you tried turning off your modem for a few seconds an then turning it back on?
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 05:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Problems with laptop and router.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tkey View Post
You say you can "connect to the network" what do you meen by this?

Once you get into router config you may realise your internet settings need setting up (Username Password etc)
Thanks for replying, i also thought that there is probably some settings that are not right, but the problem is i cant get to my router configuration page. I have tried resetting my linksys router and my modem, but that does not seem to work. What i mean by connecting to the network is that my laptop is getting the signal from the router just fine, but it cant connect to the internet. As you can tell i am new to all this IP settings, DHCP, etc. so i dont know if maybe there are some settings wrong on my laptop itself??
juniorgamba is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 12:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Problems with laptop and router.

Run the IP check to find the address of your gateway...
Yek is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 12:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Problems with laptop and router.

Ok i can finally access the router page, after a few resets, etc. its all back to original settings now, so i still have to internet.Anyone know what settings i should have for wireless? my gateway adress is 192.168.1.1, according to ipconfig/all. I dont know what type of settings i should use for wireless capability. Any help appreciated. Thanks for the help so far guys.
__________________

juniorgamba is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless problems Schmidt1989 Laptops and Notebooks 9 01-25-2008 09:47 PM
Laptop Wireless problems c0mmun1st4lyf3 Laptops and Notebooks 9 12-20-2007 09:03 AM
Can a laptop with WLAN using Vista be made a access point like a router? oxfile84 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 09-25-2007 11:00 AM
Hardwiring my laptop to my wireless router pcrobot Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 04-27-2007 06:26 PM
Problems with wifi and the router Gruchul Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 04-13-2007 03:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.