Just Insalled XP...Need Sound! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2008, 10:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 61
Default Just Insalled XP...Need Sound!

Hey,


I just installed WinXP. My computer came with Vista, and I wanted XP back. Naturally there are no XP drivers provided. I got video and networking setup, but I just need some sound drivers. I have a Conexant HD Audio card. My computer is an HP Pavilion dv6772nr.


Thanks
__________________

FlapJack is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 10:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Just Insalled XP...Need Sound!

You should be able to Google for the drivers.
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 10:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 61
Default Re: Just Insalled XP...Need Sound!

I've googled a lot. No matter what I find, nothing works. It says, and I quote, "Driver Installation Failed: Could not find the MEDIA device for this driver." So, I donno what to do. I've tried a lot of different things.
FlapJack is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 10:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Just Insalled XP...Need Sound!

I just went to HP's site and noticed the paragraph below as a prerequisite to installing the driver. Did you see that on the HP site ? Maybe you did, but just in case you didn't I thought I would point that out.

Code:
Operating system(s):    Microsoft Windows XP 
 
Download file size:      6.12M 
 
System Requirements 

SoftPaq Number SP31994, "Microsoft Universal Audio Architecture (UAA) Bus Driver for High Definition Audio," (or later) must be installed on the notebook before installing this SoftPaq. Look for SP31994 (or later) on the Software and Driver Downloads section of the www.hp.com website.
oldskool is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 10:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 61
Default Re: Just Insalled XP...Need Sound!

I have that installed. What driver were you looking at specifically, there?
FlapJack is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 10:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Just Insalled XP...Need Sound!

Conexant High Definition Audio Driver Version: 3.18.0.50 A

I was looking at this link:

oldskool is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 10:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 61
Default Re: Just Insalled XP...Need Sound!

Nadda, it doesn't work. I've installed both this, and the UAA link in the requirements and it still doesn't work. I'm still getting the error
FlapJack is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 11:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Just Insalled XP...Need Sound!

Maybe you can try looking in Device Manager and see if the soundcard has a yellow exclamation mark or a red x signifying a device problem. Then you could right-click the problematic device and click Properties then click the Troubleshooting button to see what info it gives (usually cryptic and not helpful, but hey you never know).
oldskool is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 11:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Just Insalled XP...Need Sound!

I'm going to ask something that sounds really dumb, but is the Windows Volume control in the taskbar enabled, and not muted ? I am really reaching but everyone makes mistakes and I am trying to think of whatever I can to help.
oldskool is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 11:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 61
Default Re: Just Insalled XP...Need Sound!

Well aside from the fact that it's not there. Every time there should be a sound (like a Windows kah bum!) it just BEEPS loudly. Also if you go into control panel and click on "Sounds and Audio Devices" it says "No Audio Device".
__________________

FlapJack is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
Soundcard or not? JB Rekit Computer Audio and Multimedia 33 09-14-2008 01:14 AM
sound card compatable with MIDI? pianoguy Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 08-03-2008 12:57 AM
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM
Sound Card Issues!! Nuggets Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 06-12-2007 09:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.