its over - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2015, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default its over

well, the trial McAfee anti virus that was pre installed in my and my wife's Lenovo G50. hers actually expired a few weeks ago. so i downloaded and installed Avast free a.v., then went into the control panel, and uninstalled the McAfee. except that did not uninstall all of it. because she continues to get pop ups to pay for a subscription, and she gets notices that the firewall is turned off. when she tried to turn it on, it says it is managed by McAfee. talk about being held hostage! our computers run windows 8.1 if that matters. we would like to find a way to remove all of the McAfee and find a way to turn the firewall back on. any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 09:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: its over

Run the McAfee removal tool:
https://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS101331

Also, ditch Avast and replace it with Avira. Avast didn't do so well on the last round of AV tests that AV-Comparatives runs every month, and compiles everything into a yearly summary. Avira is also free, and has a better detection / prevention rate.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 07:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: its over

Did Avira step up their game or something, because it used to be as bad if not worse than Norton. I had to take it off several laptops a couple years ago while some pieces saw it as malicious.

Edit:
I actually took a look at the tests. Only couple that matter Avast still did very well. Avast was only 2% under Avira in real world tests and the only real cause for concern is false alarms where Avira had 44 and Avast had like 70.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 09:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: its over

Yeah but they used to score higher - so quality has gone down since prior years.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 09:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: its over

Not really. I mean 2% isn't that big of a deal, and false positives aren't that big of a deal IMO.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 10:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: its over

well, false positives are a concern to me. mainly because i have to belive what the program tells me.so if t says that a file is corrupten, and it puts it in the anti virus chest, what hapens when my computer needs that file to run a program?
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 01:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: its over

You'll need to live in a perfect world not to get false positives.

Sent from my D6616
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 03:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 405
Default Re: its over

How reputable is AV-Comparitives, anyway? I've seen the reports but I don't really know anything about the organization, itself.
DistraughtSysop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 03:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: its over

Quote:
Originally Posted by DistraughtSysop View Post
How reputable is AV-Comparitives, anyway? I've seen the reports but I don't really know anything about the organization, itself.
They've been around for quite some time - seems reputable at least since they're an independent tester. I'd have to look into them more to find any details, but the reports they do are fairly comprehensive.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 03:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: its over

I trust it if that makes any difference.

Sent from my D6616
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
well i bought it and its on its way Izzjess New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-09-2007 12:15 AM
reboots over and over and over again bumpin_records Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 04-16-2006 11:24 AM
P4 Northwood - On its way out from me OCing it to its limit? exi Overclocking and Modding 8 08-22-2005 12:29 PM
my MOBO cant see its NIC. and its built on! please help! Seria Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 02-16-2005 01:29 AM
So wierd..its like its caused by... beedubaya Microsoft Windows and Software 6 07-09-2004 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.