How much memory is needed for Windows 7? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2009, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Default How much memory is needed for Windows 7?

We just picked up my wife's first new laptop since Windows 98 . Its an inexpensive Toshiba Windows 7 machine from Best Buy and it came with 2 gigs of RAM. I remember when Vista came out and the low end laptops were shipping with as little as 512 megs of RAM.

Anyway, should we seriously consider adding more RAM? From what I understand, 2 gigs is really about the bare minimum for Vista and more is preferred. Is Windows 7 pretty much the same?
__________________

dannyual767 is offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: How much memory is needed for Windows 7?

You can run Windows 7 with 1GB of RAM, but it will run much smoother with 2GB.
__________________

__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: How much memory is needed for Windows 7?

2 gigs is plenty for 7. I have 2 in my laptop (remember i'm sharing video memory too) and at bootup idling my os will use 29% of that. Vista used 40%.

Windows 7 requires 1 gig for 32 bit, 2 gig for 64 bit. 2 gig is plenty IMO.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 11-06-2009, 08:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Default Re: How much memory is needed for Windows 7?

Thanks for the good news, guys! This Toshiba only has two memory slots and I'm sure they're both loaded with inexpensive, 1 gig sticks. We'd have to shell out 45 bucks for a 2 gig stick just to end up with a total of 3 GB. Keeping this machine inexpensive is the name of the game these days!
dannyual767 is offline  
Old 11-06-2009, 08:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How much memory is needed for Windows 7?

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/win...ad-faq-172024/

Lots of useful info on the first page...
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-07-2009, 07:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Default Re: How much memory is needed for Windows 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/win...ad-faq-172024/

Lots of useful info on the first page...
Yeah Mak, I'd read that before I posted my question. Even though I'd read that the minimum requirement was 1GB, I still wanted to know if the "in-practice" amount was higher.

Like I first posted, some early, low-end Vista laptops were being shipped with 512 MB. I know. I'm on a laptop that was one of those (but now happily converted to XP!) My daughter has a Vista Compaq that came with a paltry 512 MB of RAM as well.

So far, my wife's new Toshiba Windows 7 laptop is working great and is fun to use. We're real happy with it.
__________________

dannyual767 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All VOIP programs (skype, yahoo, msn) cause PC crash (only voice calls, chat ok)??? disksko Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 03-17-2009 09:17 AM
2x2GB RAM needed, suggestions? jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 6 02-15-2009 08:29 PM
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Memory Compatibility - How is it determined? eXce!!eNt New Systems | Building and Buying 6 03-03-2008 03:52 PM
Memory or Mobo help needed cbo0485 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-30-2007 11:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.