Faulty Sound Card?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2013, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Unhappy Faulty Sound Card??

My quadcore i7, 6 GB of Ram, Windows 7 HP laptop (barely 1 1/2 years old) has been through a lot. We're talking viruses, and some potential overheating. The "virus" turned out to be a missing component of Avast! that caused all kinds of problems upon startup. It wasn't but 6 months ago that I did a factory defaults revert to end the problem completely, because the laptop has good specs and was worth more than what little I had on it. Now I literally have almost nothing installed or downloaded on it and am experiencing performance issues.
I just bought a new USB Microphone. When I plug it in and listen to what it sounds like without hitting the "record" button, it sounds great and there's nothing wrong. But when i hit record, it will record for 2 seconds, then stop recording for 2 seconds, then record again for about 2 seconds, then stop recording for 2 seconds. Everytime it "hiccups", it will hold the noise that it was making right when the hiccup started (like an annoying honk, for example, The weather outsiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii fire is so deeeeeeeeeee since we've noooooooooooooo it snow lettttttttttttttt). You catching my drift? I also noticed it does the same thing with computer games, albeit a little less often. When i play music on my computer or even just watch a video on Youtube, it works perfectly fine. It's not only the sound, but the entire screen that freezes up for those 2 seconds (or longer). Is it a performance issue? Or is it a sound card issue? Or it might even be a hardware issue. What would you suggest I do?
__________________

Benevolent822 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Faulty Sound Card??

Try updating your graphics drivers from the manufacturer's website (not HP).

What are your GPU / CPU temps while idle and when it does this? Run HWMonitor and post them.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Faulty Sound Card??

My laptop was custom made with a higher grade Radeon graphics card. Now when I go searching for it under Devices Manager, I can't find it anywhere. All I see is Intel(R) HD Graphics. So then I go to the AMD website to do an autodetect/install, and they can't find it either. I've even tried doing a custom download of their 2 drivers for Notebooks, and neither one says their compatible with my graphics card. Might I have a fried card?
Benevolent822 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Faulty Sound Card??

Try running driversweeper: Guru3D - Driver Sweeper
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Faulty Sound Card??

I followed the instructions on the Guru3D website and ran the DriverSweeper in Safe Mode and cleaned my ATI Display files, but then when I rebooted to Normal mode, it just blue screened on me. The error was something like igd????64.exe The ?'s represent letters that I don't recall.
Benevolent822 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
audio, performance, sound

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.