dell xps gaming laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2007, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default dell xps gaming laptop

For some reason my laptop lagged for a while and I took out 1gb of ddr2 and now it runs a lot faster and smoother. It had in 2gb and it read the 2gb. Now that it has 1gb it does read 1gb. I was just wondering what could be wrong? its the same brand of memory and everything.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 03:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: dell xps gaming laptop

A stick of RAM could be going bad. Try running memtest on it with both sticks in. If you get errors, pull one and rerun it, then do the otehr.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 03:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: dell xps gaming laptop

ok thank you so much. I really appreciate it.
Norcent is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 04:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: dell xps gaming laptop

also if I buy 2 8gb flash drives with readyboost and upgrade to vista to use the 2 8gb flash drives for memory will it work? what is the limit on vista for using the flash drives as memory?
Norcent is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: dell xps gaming laptop

bump bump
Norcent is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 08:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 65
Default Re: dell xps gaming laptop

4GB is the limit.
__________________
============================================
Dell XPS 720 H2C Edition | Intel QX8650 Quad @ 3.66GHz | 2x Nvidia 8800GTX 768MB In SLi
4096MB 1066MHz DDR2 RAM | 2x 160GB 10,000RPM HDD In Raid0
1KW Dell PSU | Dell 2001FP 1600x1200
============================================
Highest 3DMark06: 17,281
Dell Boi is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 08:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: dell xps gaming laptop

that is so stupid.
Norcent is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 09:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 65
Default Re: dell xps gaming laptop

I guess, but Vista doesn't need more than 4GB disk caching space, so any more space would be pointless.

In all fairness, if you've got 2GB RAM...Readyboost isn't gonna make much difference.
__________________
============================================
Dell XPS 720 H2C Edition | Intel QX8650 Quad @ 3.66GHz | 2x Nvidia 8800GTX 768MB In SLi
4096MB 1066MHz DDR2 RAM | 2x 160GB 10,000RPM HDD In Raid0
1KW Dell PSU | Dell 2001FP 1600x1200
============================================
Highest 3DMark06: 17,281
Dell Boi is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 10:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: dell xps gaming laptop

are you trying to tell me that since I have 2gb ddr2 in my laptop vista readyboost will only read 2gb on an 8gb flash drive?

Or will readyboost use up 4gb on the 8gb flash drive to make me have 6 gb?

I am starting to really hate vista now.
Norcent is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 11:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: dell xps gaming laptop

if you make it so the 8gb flash drive with readyboost is all memory then you will have 10gb of memory, the thing is it won't make a noticable difference because vista can only optimize 4gb max.

so just stick with 2gb and you'll be fine.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Inspiron E1705 Gaming laptop Really Cheap Norcent Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 6 11-30-2007 05:49 PM
Dell XPS 720 H2C - Worth it? Dell Boi System Upgrades 3 11-19-2007 06:00 PM
Gaming laptop advice cdcmoon Laptops and Notebooks 7 10-04-2007 10:21 AM
Gaming Laptop...? Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 21 04-20-2007 02:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.