Couple questions Toshiba Satellite - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2009, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Couple questions Toshiba Satellite

I just bought a used toshiba satellite from a friend of mine. known issue, hard drive bit the dust. It is an A355D-S6930. When turned on and allowed to try to boot, I get the following messages
"Intel UNDI, PXE-2.1 (build 082)
Copyright (C) 1997-2000 Intel Corporation

For Realtek RTL8101E/8102E PCI-E Ethernet Controler v1.09 (080602)
XE-E61 : Media test failure, check cable
PXE-M0F: Exiting PXE ROM."

In the system settings there is no hard drive recognized. My first question is, is the diagnosis of dead hard drive accurate with that message and what I'm seeing? Secondly, if I get a new hard drive, can I DL the Vista version that I need and use the product key that is on the back? lastly, does it matter what hard drive I get for it? Got some options and am willing to get this up and going... for it being listed on toshiba's website at 799.99, I figured 150, with dead hdd or whatever, wasn't bad lol. thanks!
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 06:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Couple questions Toshiba Satellite

Quote:
My first question is, is the diagnosis of dead hard drive accurate with that message and what I'm seeing?
Can you remove the hard drive, plug it into a working PC and see if it detects. You want to make sure that it's the hard drive that is dead, and not the hard drive controller.

Quote:
g? Secondly, if I get a new hard drive, can I DL the Vista version that I need and use the product key that is on the back?
Yes. However if the serial number does not work, you might need to use an another serial number and then call up Microsoft to change over to the orginal serial number and activate your windows.

[quote]lastly, does it matter what hard drive I get for it? [/youtube]
If it's a Sata harddrive, then make sure you get a replacement SATA harddrive for it.
If it's a ATA harddrive, then make sure you get a replacement ATA harddrive.
Apart from that, you also have the issue of hard drive brands. But that is about it.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 06:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 146
Default Re: Couple questions Toshiba Satellite

yes the message COULD be because of your dead hard drive
yes you can use the version of vista that you want with its product key

However as for Hard drives you have to make sure that it is a 2.5 inch for laptops and you have to make sure that it has the same connection as the one already in their which should be a SATA (Serial Advanced Technology Attachment) cable.

you should be able to just take out the old hard drive put the new one in, put the vista disk in, boot it up and follow install instructions. Unless theirs other problems with the laptop itself.
808Alaska is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 06:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Couple questions Toshiba Satellite

lol, been working with computers long enough to know to look for the obvious *get a laptop hdd, 2.5" SATA* I just was... actually, I guess that wasn't a smart question, I knew the answer to it! ok, question then for keyboard cowboy. is the sata cable the same for regular sata devices as is for the lappy hdd? or do I need a conversion cable? *I am currently trying to find a screwdriver that will fit grrr*
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 08:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 146
Default Re: Couple questions Toshiba Satellite

HAHA yeah sorry, i kinda figured that after i submitted my reply and seen how much post's you already had.
808Alaska is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 03:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Couple questions Toshiba Satellite

2.5 and 3.5 SATA use the same connectors so you are set.

Just need to open that baby up.
Why cant they just use normal size screws on those babies.
Oh well.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 07:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Couple questions Toshiba Satellite

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirCyber View Post
lol, been working with computers long enough to know to look for the obvious *get a laptop hdd, 2.5" SATA* I just was... actually, I guess that wasn't a smart question, I knew the answer to it! ok, question then for keyboard cowboy. is the sata cable the same for regular sata devices as is for the lappy hdd? or do I need a conversion cable? *I am currently trying to find a screwdriver that will fit grrr*

If it's a sata hard drive, then you can plug it into a normaly desktop sata cable and power.

If it's ATA, then you might need to pick up an adaptor for you to unplug it into an IDE cable.
Or you can get some USB to adaptors what will connect to just about any drive (not scsi)
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 09:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Couple questions Toshiba Satellite

eh well guess I should have checked here before I ordered my new hdd, getting a 320GB 7200 rpm 2.5 Western Digital, hope it's not the controller as you mentioned... and yes, it's sata.
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.