Can I upgrade anything here?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2012, 09:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Can I upgrade anything here??

No SSD. Even though that would be an IDEAL upgrade..

But let's start with the basics.. Possible CPU Upgrade to an i5 Maybe? What Ram upgrade would be recommended, if any? The last time I messed with computers, the AMD PII940 was just released.. I still have a drive to build and mod them, just can't find the bankroll or the motivation..

The rid is a Toshiba Satellite P7555-S5320 with an i3 and 6g of ram, Win7 64b. No special GPU.. Just on-board Intel.

CPU-Z Screenshots attached.

Thanks!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CPUZ.jpg (93.6 KB, 7 views)
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 10:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Can I upgrade anything here??

Anybody? I was told ram upgrades on laptops were almost pointless. Just figured I'd check first.
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 11:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Can I upgrade anything here??

Why no SSD?

Moving to an i5 would be chancy. IF it worked you would have additional heat which is not good with lappys.

Moving up from 6GB would not be an improvement. Unless you are running virtual machines or doing video editing you are not even using all of the 6GB now.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 01:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Can I upgrade anything here??

^ True... And for what I would need from an SSD, Space wise, I can't justify the cost. I've used 200g out of 580. And I'd still have to transfer everything. Not really up on ghosting a hard drive. Don't feel like losing anything. I'll look into it though. I have an SSD in my big rig and that's ungodly fast.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Can I upgrade anything here??

Actually, I think i could probably benefit from a RAM upgrade. The gauge in the corner is showing I'm using 67% just with my internet browser open. Granted I have a LOT of tabs open and use almost all of them... Google chrome, btw.

Any recommendations as far as specifications??
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 10:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Can I upgrade anything here??

Maximum that laptop can support is 8gb, so you could upgrade to that, but it's not really gonna be all that useful. Trotski's right, SSD is your best upgrade option. You could always get a 120gb SSD (they run between 90 and 120 bucks or so for a decent on, the Samsung 830 series is 100 for 128gb I believe) and get a portable external solution for any other data if need be. I just bought a 500gb WD USB drive for about 60 bucks.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Can I upgrade anything here??

Hmmm... I wonder... I just don't want to turn my "daily driver" computer into a hassle to deal with. I keep all my music on here (70g) Not to mention everything off my phone and whatever from the internet and everything just ends up piling up. I DO need to back up though. It's been a while.

look what I found! Great idea!
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 11:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Can I upgrade anything here??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antec-User View Post
Hmmm... I wonder... I just don't want to turn my "daily driver" computer into a hassle to deal with. I keep all my music on here (70g) Not to mention everything off my phone and whatever from the internet and everything just ends up piling up. I DO need to back up though. It's been a while.
Do you have a laptop bag with your laptop? Should be enough space in there (if you have one) for a small usb powered external. Keep most of the music you would listen to on a daily basis on the SSD (120/128gb) and the rest plus whatever else on the hard drive. Wouldn't be too big of a hassle. Technically you could keep all your music on the SSD if you wanted, just would have less space for programs/anything else.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.