Can I do this with my laptops? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2009, 09:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default Can I do this with my laptops?

Well last year I bought a new Laptop but it came with onboard graphics, just recently my brother's motherboard failed and HP refused to repair so it's just laying around gathering dust. His laptop has a nVidia GeForce card and it's sad watching gather dust and me not be able to play real games.

So I wanted to ask if I can take out his graphics card and put it on mine it would really help me, both laptops are out of warranty.

My specs are:
Acer Extensa 5630z
Intel Pentium Dual 2.0ghz CPU
Intel GL40 chipset
3gb RAM
Onboard Mobile Intel 4 Series Express graphics with 1.2gb shared RAM
Using Windows 7 and XP in different partitions

I don't remember most of my bros laptop specs since its been dead for a while =/

Thanks for any advice.
__________________

Himie is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 09:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Can I do this with my laptops?

If both are onboard graphics cards (which 95% of laptops are) then you will not be able to accomplish this.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 09:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Can I do this with my laptops?

^^

Im pretty sure that even if the laptops card wasn't integrated with everything else you still wouldn't be able to pop it in the PC.

If thats what you were asking?
Ste is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 09:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can I do this with my laptops?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexluethar View Post
If both are onboard graphics cards (which 95% of laptops are) then you will not be able to accomplish this.
I'm pretty sure his is not onboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
^^

Im pretty sure that even if the laptops card wasn't integrated with everything else you still wouldn't be able to pop it in the PC.

If thats what you were asking?
I already tried but it's not very good with good games for example Team Fortress 2 lags a lot with lowest settings possible at 640x480 unless theres nothing on screen and I'm facing a wall I get full fps that's why I want to get his graphics card into my laptop
Himie is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 09:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Can I do this with my laptops?

It doesn't matter, even laptop video cards are still a different connection type than what desktops have slots for.

I highly doubt its AGP/PCI/PCIE.

Itd be easier and more productive to just buy a video card for the PC.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 09:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can I do this with my laptops?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
It doesn't matter, even laptop video cards are still a different connection type than what desktops have slots for.

I highly doubt its AGP/PCI/PCIE.

Itd be easier and more productive to just buy a video card for the PC.
We don't have a desktop they are both laptops
Himie is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 10:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can I do this with my laptops?

Ste both are laptops eh.

The Acer Extensa probably has no pci-e slot for a dedicated card anyway, so even if the nvidia is a dedicated you couldn't.

Next issue would be power, the acer wouldn't have enough. Then theres cooling...

Saddly laptops are horrible for upgrading.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 12:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Can I do this with my laptops?

ohh, sorry I thought you were asking a more newb question.

If the other laptop has an open slot that is the same as the other video card, then you could.

But its unlikely too.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 01:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can I do this with my laptops?

Well I dismantled my bros laptop and I need to know if this is the GPU and what slot is it and how to take it out I tried not being so forceful but it's stuck I need some advice here.

Sorry for the low quality.
ImageShack -
Himie is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 12:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can I do this with my laptops?

The entire card looks like this:
NVidia 8600M GT 512MB Laptop MXM II Video Card - eBay (item 220518875419 end time Jan-28-10 15:08:57 PST)

If you cqan't pull it out... I won't come out.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Desktop can't see laptops on workgroup GuitarFreak1857 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 08-17-2009 04:51 PM
Help quick: Which of these 3 laptops is better? AMD/Intel? pc_boy Laptops and Notebooks 3 02-15-2009 08:36 PM
Which of these high-end laptops are the best? akasixcon Laptops and Notebooks 8 09-19-2008 10:27 PM
12000 laptops lost every month in US airports Harper Off Topic Discussion 3 07-11-2008 05:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.