Boot Time - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2008, 02:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default Boot Time

Well, I Have Recently Purchased A Toshiba Windows Vista Home Premium Laptop. How Can I Make My Boot Screen Pass A Bit Faster?

Vanity is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Boot Time

How long is it taking you? What is the spec of the laptop?


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 02:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Boot Time

Toshiba Equium A200 - 1VO, Its Taking About 30 Seconds To Boot Up On A Brand New Laptop With Nothing Other Than Preinstalled Things Except Microsoft Office 2003. Also I Do Not Want To Buy Any Harddrives Or...Well Anything. Just A Program Or Something I Can Delete Help?
Vanity is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 03:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
I feel funny...
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Boot Time

How much ram do you have? If you have less than 1gb you can benefit from readyboost.
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: Boot Time

What are the specs
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 09:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Boot Time

The best way would be to upgrade your hard drive which you don't want to do.

You can go into start > run > msconfig (may be different in Vista)

and delete unneeded startup software and drivers (drivers load at startup and software runs when you reach the desktop)

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What more can I do to increase boot up times? qk232 Overclocking and Modding 7 12-27-2007 05:43 PM
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-01-2007 11:37 PM
Multiple boot J9Darkwing Linux and Open Source 4 11-18-2007 03:55 PM
Boot order question AceWriter System Upgrades 0 10-13-2007 11:29 AM
5 minute, 49 second boot up time, please help! otbpaintball Microsoft Windows and Software 12 05-09-2007 08:11 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.