ASUS X58L Blue screen!?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2010, 03:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default ASUS X58L Blue screen!?!

I just bought this from a guy who said its only 6 months old.

He did a recovery on it i think to put it back to windows vista, from windows 7

I got it home after it doing 67 updates on the way home

i installed mIRC, avast, MSN, Firefox

Was working fine for awhile and then started crashing, and going to a blue error screen, i dont have the error message as it goes of the screen to fast

Does anyone know what is causeing this? is it one of the programs i installed on the laptop

ASUS X58L AP004E is the model

Any info or help is appreciated.

*EDIT*

Ive just done a recovery with the disk he gave me, and it seems to be working again but im not sure for how long

Can vista work with Mirc FF msn and Avast?
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: ASUS X58L Blue screen!?!

Check in Event Viewer for BSOD codes.

Vista workss fine with any program. Just make sure it is the most current.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: ASUS X58L Blue screen!?!

If it happens again you can set it up so you computer does not restart upon error.

Quote:
1. Click on Start and then Control Panel.

2. Click on the System and Maintenance link.

3. Click on the System link.

4. In the task pane on the left, click the Advanced system settings link.

5. Locate the Startup and Recovery area and click on the Settings button.

6. In the Startup and Recovery window, locate and uncheck the check box next to Automatically restart.

7. Click OK in the Startup and Recovery window.

8. Click OK in the System Properties window.

9. You can now close the System window.

10. From now on, when a problem causes a BSOD or another major error that halts the system, the PC will not automatically reboot. Rebooting manually will be necessary.
Automatic Restart Vista - How To Disable the Automatic Restart on System Failure in Windows Vista

Then you can post the stop error.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 04:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: ASUS X58L Blue screen!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
If it happens again you can set it up so you computer does not restart upon error.



Automatic Restart Vista - How To Disable the Automatic Restart on System Failure in Windows Vista

Then you can post the stop error.
Thanks hefe. its stoped doing it now i did a recovery. i dont know what caused it but i just got fed up and did what i did, just one thing. will WoW run on this notebook? if not then dont worry

Thanks, and i changed the settings

Here are my notebook specs

Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Basic (6.0, Build 6001) Service Pack 1
Processor: Genuine Intel(R) CPU 575 @ 2.00GHz, ~2.0GHz
Memory: 1014MB RAM
Card name: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family

Im guessing this is to crap to run any game, right? lol
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 04:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: ASUS X58L Blue screen!?!

I've seen worse... I wouldn't expect much out of it, but do keep an eye on your temps.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 04:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: ASUS X58L Blue screen!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
I've seen worse... I wouldn't expect much out of it, but do keep an eye on your temps.
Yah what temp thingys can i use to monitor on this notebook?

Can anyone tell me if this is a dualcore notebook, because it isnt showing on the system, and im supose to have 2gb ram, and i only have 1gb, anyone know where i can get another 1gb from? and a better CPU
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 05:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: ASUS X58L Blue screen!?!

I use HWMonitor (free) and Everest (paid)

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

It is a C2D Dual Core T4200
If it came with 2GB of RAM, 1Gb is used up by the GPU, as it does not have its own RAM. Plus other processes.

In a laptop, memory is easy, but there are a max of 2 slots, you will have to get a higher memory card thaan 1GB.

CPUs for laptops are another factor. Yes, you can upgrade them, but you will get next to none extra performance out of it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 05:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: ASUS X58L Blue screen!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
I use HWMonitor (free) and Everest (paid)

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

It is a C2D Dual Core T4200
If it came with 2GB of RAM, 1Gb is used up by the GPU, as it does not have its own RAM. Plus other processes.

In a laptop, memory is easy, but there are a max of 2 slots, you will have to get a higher memory card thaan 1GB.

CPUs for laptops are another factor. Yes, you can upgrade them, but you will get next to none extra performance out of it.


But its saying on my system info that this is a Processor: Genuine Intel(R) CPU 575 @ 2.00GHz, ~2.0GHz and its supose to be a dual core

my temps atm with firefox up msn, yahoo, mIRC are

CPU temp is 46oC and thats 112oF

oACPI is 53oC 127oF

HDD is at 42oC 107 oF

are these to high? and if so , how can i reduce them?
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 06:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: ASUS X58L Blue screen!?!

Just give us the C temps. That's what we go by.

All your temps are fine.

Your max CPU temp should be in the 50C raange on low graphics.
HDD should be in the mid 40c range (~45C)

I'm unsure of your CPU, where did you buy it?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 07:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: ASUS X58L Blue screen!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcboy09 View Post
But its saying on my system info that this is a Processor: Genuine Intel(R) CPU 575 @ 2.00GHz, ~2.0GHz and its supose to be a dual core
I'm looking at your "system info" and then at the Thread Title which says Asus X58L. The X58 is telling me you should have a i7 920 or better cpu. It just doesn't sound right to me.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Releases Blue Screen Rootkit Detection Tool Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 03-02-2010 06:24 PM
Got the Blue screen, but everything seems to be fine.. NicktheQuik Microsoft Windows and Software 8 11-27-2008 07:40 PM
Windows goes into "BAD_POOL" blue screen after attemtping windows update blue4paper Microsoft Windows and Software 3 11-14-2008 03:58 PM
Unknown Blue Screen Error nnigad Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-12-2008 11:16 PM
Tried 3.3GHz and got blue screen! pinoy3000 Overclocking and Modding 3 08-25-2007 03:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.