2GB or 4GB - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2010, 07:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Default 2GB or 4GB

I'm about to buy a laptop for internet use, scanning, printing, and webcam use. What is the difference in performance of 2GB and 4GB for these functions and others?
Also, will I need to buy a docking station, port replicator or expansion base, and for these functions, what would be the least expensive?Steve1s2s3s

Steve1s2s3s is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 08:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 2GB or 4GB

Welcome to Tech-Forums, Steve!!!

For your purposes you would not need anymore than 2GB of RAM.

Most, if not, all laptops today, come with enough ports so that you do not need a docking station or port replicator.



b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 08:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,059
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: 2GB or 4GB

For what you want, 2Gb should be fine. You'd only need more if you were running more intensive programs (e.g. photoshop)

Edit: beaten
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 08:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Lexluethar's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: 2GB or 4GB

Agreed 2 is fine for day to day usage.
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 10:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: 2GB or 4GB

2Gb is enough for day to day usage. I used to use Photoshop CS2 on my Dell (2GB DDR2), but I didn't have 10 pictures up at the same time.
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading RAM from 2gb > 4gb and mobo compatibility rayzolight System Upgrades 6 12-03-2008 01:44 PM
RAM - 2gb vs 4gb golumstoe New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-22-2008 12:28 AM
2gb vs 4gb of ram wafflehammer New Systems | Building and Buying 12 04-08-2008 10:12 PM
4gb or 2gb memory with different timings enthusiast1917 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 01-02-2008 01:58 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.