XP Shutdown Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2004, 03:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default Xp

I installed XP on one of my old computers which had 98 before and when ishut down the computer, it dosent shut down itself and it says "It is now safe to turn off your computer". This use to be on windows 95, and when I had 98 it never happened. Any way to stop it from happening and just shutting down automatically?
__________________

Ankush09 is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 03:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Firstly ...are u sure ur old system has an ATX power supply .... 'coz it can shut down automatically only if the power supply is an ATX
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

I don't know but when i had 98 on my comp it would shut down automatically.
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 04:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Most likely because the BIOS version that you have isn't ACPI compliant. This is a known problem with 2000 and XP. Read this post:
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=7889

According to Microsoft, flashing your BIOS with a ACPI compatible version most likely WILL NOT solve the problem, as you have to apply the flash before installing. They say that you have to reinstall after the flash has been made. I've seen this to be true and not true. But it should fix your problem.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 04:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 161
Default

Its probably becuase you dont have advanced power management active. Go to Control Panel>Power Options and look for APM and select it.
Cherubimon_3.20 is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 04:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Just another thing to add .. U might just have ACPI disabled in the bios ..check that up ...
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.