wtf..damn u best buy..F.U. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2004, 11:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default wtf..damn u best buy..F.U.

alrighty, the first time i bought my computer to best buy was last week cuz my comp was shutting down and rebooting itself in a contiuos loop, so i bought to best buy and they told me that i neded to restore and reformat ok did that, i bought home last friday and it worked fine on fri and saturday on sunday morning it started doing the same thing. i paid 85 bbucks for that service, ok here we go again i bought back to them on monday, now the computer didnt even want to srta up not even for them. i didnt know what was going on, and they said that they would do a system diagnostics for me, i paid 64 bucks for that service, i just got off the phone no to long ago and some geek squad dud picked up the phone and i asked if my computer has been diagnosed already.
he goes and check the papers and says my computer needs to be reformatted and restored from scracth and install windows xp from scracth. now WTF are they trying to pull off i swear the god i was gonna cuss that dude out over the phone. im gonan go there later to day cuz im at school right now to take two exams so i cant runoff.

do you guys know wtf the problem could be???? dont worry if i found out they gonna charge my *** again im gonna demand my ****in money back and tell everyone in the line to go somewhere else.
__________________

__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 11:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Best Buy is known for charging you for work that doesn't need done.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 01:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

go to a local computer shop, not a best buy. wish you the best of luck
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 01:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
do you guys know wtf the problem could be????
You brought the computer to Best Buy. That's the first problem.
Quote:
dont worry if i found out they gonna charge my *** again im gonna demand my ****in money back and tell everyone in the line to go somewhere else.
Best Buy techies aren't real techies. That's not a banger, that's the reality of the situation. They're simple shmucks who they train to do basic computer troubleshooting, the SAME way they train shmucks to run the registers and stock shelves. The fact that any of them has even SEEN a computer before is irrelevant to their process.

What Best Buy is doing is setting up a standard in-store servicing department, and as always the task is for crap, expensive, and il-advised.

Your first step, before going to Best Buy, should have been to post here (or on some other techie forum). We probably could have helped you at that point.

Now that problem is not only that your computer is fycking up, but Best Buy has put their hands in the problem.

Chances are, by know, you're best choice is going to be to wipe that drive and start over from scratch, doing a full reinstall of the system. Even IF we got your computer back up and running, the chances that Best Buy have already screwed things up too much, are high. It's not totally their fault, it's just a problem they shouldn't be handling and they solved it the only way they know how: reinstall. It's a good process, mostly, but again, il-advised.

Unless you have something important on the hard-drive, reformat it and install Windows. If you're still running into problems after a full reformat and reinstall, let us know.

^..^
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 05:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah they'll charge you like $30 just to install some RAM lol
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 07:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
yeah they'll charge you like $30 just to install some RAM lol
What's wrong with that? They have to make money somehow! Those guys doing the work, no matter how trivial, aren't sitting in there at the BestBuy tech counter for peanuts.

And besides...If you don't have a clue about computers, getting the folks at Best Buy to do the work is great!
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 12:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Yeah, but 30 bucks??? Come on, now. Best Buy is ripping those people off like a piece of paper. I know where I'm NOT going for my comp problems. Darkwingduck, force them to give your money back, and don't go back. At least that's what I'd do.
Regulus is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 12:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default

well buisness is buisness I suppose

best buy are nazi's tho
__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 12:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

lol. Woah, that's a bee sting right there, man. They are bad, but, Nazis?!?! Ouch
Regulus is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 12:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i agree.. best buy = nazi's

but im not shur if anyone can compair to a car dealership repare shop.
(im not saying i ever got service from a dealer, i just know from my own knoledge of howmuch stuff is, and how much thy charge ppl who now nothing about cars, dealerships = the devil)
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

« ram | power supply »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.