Won't Detect Floppy - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2005, 03:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default Won't Detect Floppy

I tried using serveral floppy drives and several cables. And, I also tried all the ways I can put it. The power is going in it because the light when I put it on the wrong side and the light go on. Also, all floppy drives is working on my other computer. I got an on-board controller on my AST computer. It says 11.10 Your flopppy drive is identified incorrectly in System Setup. But, it is setted as an 1.44MB 3.5". And the adapter is setted to built-in.

Someone can help me?

LegendBreath is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 03:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 18

Looks like you flipped all the cables and went through all the trial-and-error procedures I would have done. If all the floppy drives behave the same way, it may be the FDD controller gone bad. :/ I dont' know for sure, but you've done everything I would have.

endersftd is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 02:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275

you have to set the correct startup order in bios...

usually you have to either hit one of these buttons to get into bios.


try all of them out...and your screen should pull up a whole bunch of system info...

you'll want to click on "Boot Order" and make sure to set the floppy drive to be the first one to boot.

does that make sense at all?

as of now, i'll bet your computer is set to startup from

1. hard drive
2. cd-rom

you need to change it to

2. (whatever)
3 (whatever)

for it to be able to boot from the floppy drive.

good luck.
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 06:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 34

Make sure you dont have a 2mb floppy,go into bios and enable "boot-up floppy seek"also in bios,set floppy to 1.44mb
asdco is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.