Why RAM? Why Not Hard drive? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2005, 06:43 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

sure the 0.9 isnt the seek time?

Its basically because the hard drive has the moving heads as someone said and to read 512MB of data the heads need to be moved over all the information areas at a speed it can read. To do that in nano seconds the heads would need to cover more data in the same time frame and to do that the heads would need to be pretty precise! ...and I'm sure there must be some lag when dealing with other IDE devices as well as the fact that the hard drive has other processes to deal with and as you know they can only do one thing at a time! In fact... hard drives suck!
__________________

rememberme is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 06:57 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

L1 Cache located directly on the processor, the fastest possible memory to access. Limited by size
L2 Cache next fastest, located close to the processor but not on it. Not as fast as L1 cache but capable of storing more
Ram nowhere near as fast as L2 or L1 but capable of storing even more data
Harddrive nowhere near as fast as ram but capable of storing yet even more information AND is not volitle (meaning loses it's information when power is off)


The average hardrive has an 8 millisecond seek time
Ram has an average about 20 nanoseconds

Harddrive: 8000 nanosecond access time
Ram: 20 nanosecond accesstime

The difference in speeds is astronomical
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 08:25 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

Harddrives have a very slow access tiems. ^^^^^^
algu7344 is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 05:10 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 144
Default

Somebody told RAM is a electrical device. Its wrong. Its a electronic device and harddrive is also not a mechanical device. Mechanical operation is taking place there.
Mohan Giri is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 05:18 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 175
Default

That makes no sense.

RAM is not electrical? It's electronic?

HDDs are not mechanical? But they operate mechanically?
FrontSide is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 05:31 PM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

Ram = No moving parts
Harddrive = Moving parts

Harddrive heads can move fast in relation to what humans consider fast, but to electricity they might as well not be moving.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 05:35 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

L2 cache is on the processor...
same with L3...
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 05:48 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

Yea my mistake Im still living in the 80s
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 06:12 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

This thread is pretty funny.

I would second the motion of picking up a copy of a A+ Certification Manual.

LOL
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.