Using an old hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2007, 08:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 111
Default Using an old hard drive

I have an old 4 GB hard drive. If i hook it up with an IDE cable, and boot it from BIOS, will it work? It has windows 98 on it. Just thinking i would ask before i try and screw something up.
__________________

bugabooz is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Using an old hard drive

Depends on what it came out of. Obviously not the PC in your sig. It more than likely will not boot unless the mobo is nearly indentical to the one it came from. You can slave it in as a secondary drive and use it for storage or open files, run the programs on it (maybe).
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 11:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 111
Default Re: Using an old hard drive

i just want to copy some of the files from the hard drive, nothing permanent. It came out of a old 1999 dell pc. Ill try it on my newer dell pc. But can you explain why it wouldn't work on the pc in my sig? Isn't a hard drive a hard drive?
bugabooz is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 02:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Using an old hard drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugabooz View Post
i just want to copy some of the files from the hard drive, nothing permanent. It came out of a old 1999 dell pc. Ill try it on my newer dell pc. But can you explain why it wouldn't work on the pc in my sig? Isn't a hard drive a hard drive?
It won't boot into 98 with your new hardware.
Just hook it up as slave and then retrieve or add files to the 4g hd. It will work.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
Help a newb: simple issue with hard drive copying? AppleBag Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 01:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.