usb vs ethernet. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2005, 01:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default usb vs ethernet.

whats the real difference? is one faster then the other? im using a usb connection at the moment but is it better to switch?
__________________

__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 01:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

im not sure the speed of usb is but with ethernet you can get gigabit cards
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 02:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 259
Send a message via AIM to C.Ingram Send a message via Yahoo to C.Ingram
Default

USB is sometimes faster, some times slower (1.5 (1.0), 12(1.1/2)*, 480(2.0/High-Speed) Mbps for USB vs 10, 100(fast), 1000(Gig-E) Mbps for Ethernet, commonly). The key difference is distance (3m for USB, 100m for above mentioned Ethernet) if you are only talking about two nodes.

*Long story.
__________________
Christopher Ingram
Principal Consultant, Souken Group, LLC.
C.Ingram@SoukenGroup.com
(856) 392 5244 -- (866) Go Souken
C.Ingram is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 04:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default

well the cord is 50cm from my computer so which would be faster for me?
__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 09:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

either way,, your hard drive cant write as fast as they can send. So it really doesnt matter, unless you are runnin like a raid 5 across a bunch of drives
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 09:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

If you are using USB then it will be faster than 100Mb ethernet, but not faster than 1Gb. You probably have a 100Mb card.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 09:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

usb is rated at 400mb, and ethernet can go up to a gig, usually just 100mb though. If you are talking about a cable modem,,, it dont matter, cable modems only use like maybe 1% of the bandwidth the line can offer
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 11:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

USB 1.0 is way slower than 100Mbits Ethernet. USB 2.0 is faster. Anyway, I would go for Ethernet. Less driver trouble, better reliability. Easier to add switches, routers, hub's etc.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 11:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

When i tried running my cable modem with a usb cord it tottally slowed down,Two of my friend's called me with the same problem and as soon as they switched to an ethernet cable it cleared up and was alot faster.
Shumway is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 11:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

USB sucks. We had an ADSL USB modem and it kept sending data without any programs running, it was extremely slow, and once you started your computer you had to wait for 5 minutes before the internet worked. Also, when we shut the computer down and rebootet the "connected" light was lighting up, so you couldn't connect to the internet. We had to wait about 45 minutes before it had "cooled down" and we could start using it again.

The USB link cable we tried was even worse. We installed the drivers on both computers and it didn't connect or something. we uninstalled them but the computer kept remembering the allocated USB port blah blah...

I hate USB.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.