USB trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2003, 02:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 24
Default USB trouble

I have a Packard Bell,AMD-K6-2 proc.,4 GB,96 MB.
I have 2 USB's on the PC and a USB card. When I plug hardware in any of them the PC does not find anything.I plugged in a webcam,1st I installed the drivers thru a CD,I have W/XP and the webcam is XP compatible and it is a 1.1 interface.I go thru Wizard and it searches for new hardware but does'nt find it. I borrowed a scanner with a power supply of it's own and when I turn PC on it says "new hardware found 6600 USB scanner",it tries to install it and at the last it says "vizMIcro.dll file not found,type a path to folder location". I go thru search all files for vizMicro and there is none.I have searched the web and asked around and no one seems to know that file!.Is it possible that my USB hardware has to have it's own power source? I bought this PC at a garage sale and it works fine with all the other ports except thru USB ports.
All help is appreciated !
__________________

Ruben is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 02:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

most of the time, unless the device is very low power, yes, they will have to have their own power source, also check to see if any of the devices are usb 2.0, they wont work with 1.1
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

Ruben,....

its an old pc,..you might want to check with its previous owners they had encountered the same thing.

dethangel, just saw your sig,...LOL! i want that one too!
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 604
Default

dethangel, i saw ur sig too and check the best buy creation station center cause u can build a P4 3.2 gig for 1300 bucks.
__________________
Search TF <b>before</b> posting!<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
randy is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 24
Default

The scanner I borrowed is a 2.0,the webcam is a 1.1,I know the webcam works because I installed it in another PC to make sure that it did. Can I buy a usb box with it's own power source to make it work? How do I check to see if my USB's are 1.1 or 2.0 ?
Ruben is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 04:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

so,...your scanner works on your current pc, except that it has bad installation files? am i right? but your webcam doesnt?
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 04:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

if your OS detected your usb 2 scanner,...then you have usb 2...that explains why your webcam doesn't work...

correct me if i'm wrong but this is what i think.

if the scanner was detected then you should have no trouble making usb devices run with your pc,..it just depends on whether you have a usb 2 or .1 device
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 04:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 24
Default

Scanner doesn't actually work,the PC recognizes it as new hardware and tries to install and then it asks for the file so it doesn't finnish installing. It cannot find the webcam and apparently it is low power cuz it does work on my sons PC.
Ruben is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 04:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 24
Default

Ok devilish,that sounds logical to me but what da HEC is a vizMIcro.dll file ?
Ruben is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 04:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

btw,..since you have an old pc..you might want to consider buying a usb hub with its own power supply..power is very critical in pc hardware management...

again,..usb versions come into play when buying a hub.
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.