upgrading mobo and cpu and case, need help!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2004, 08:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default upgrading mobo and cpu and case, need help!!

well after two weeks or so, best buy finnaly told me whats wrong with my comp, ii need a new mobo and a cpu, cause the cpu is overheating and is short cicuit my mobo, so me being online is gonna be temporary, and i want a new mobo but doing that would be to find the right size mobo, i rather just by a new case. so heres my question

what type of mother boad and pu/w fan can i get???

any suggestions on a new case??

and would my dvd and Cd rw and harddrive fit in the new case?

would i need a new power button and stuff or does that come with the hard drive??

also would the mobo come with its own screws or can i still use the one from my old mobo??

any otherhelp or suggestions would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 11:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

if you buy a generic case, and get a thermaltake psu, antec or any other branded psu. put it into the generic atx case. they are usually large and you can fit most of your components in there, otherwise you can get a branded case/psu combo,
some are listed here:

http://www.newegg.com/app/manufact.asp?catalog=7&DEPA=1

any case, even generic cases come with screwes for mounting the motherboard. make sure you get a case that has 4 drive bays for future expansion. cases come with power button and cords for the motherboard etc. what type of mobo and cpu do you want, simerlar to before, of do you want to upgrade, how much do you want to spend.

wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 08:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

i want an upgrade, im checking out an amd athlon xp 2400 processor.
__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Perfect combo for you:
Mobo- http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-184&depa=1

CPU- http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-439&depa=1

HS w/fan- http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...106-037&depa=1

The cpu can be overclocked to athlon xp 3200 speeds (2.2ghz) with that air cooling since it is mobile meaning it doesn't produce as much heat. In my opinion it has the best performance:value ratio.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 10:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
Perfect combo for you:
Mobo- http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-184&depa=1

CPU- http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-439&depa=1

HS w/fan- http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...106-037&depa=1

The cpu can be overclocked to athlon xp 3200 speeds (2.2ghz) with that air cooling since it is mobile meaning it doesn't produce as much heat. In my opinion it has the best performance:value ratio.
I have to say, looking at that mb, i like how the apg slot is designed with the pci slots in mind. It allows for the now common two slot agp cards. Props on that designer.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 11:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default

well, if u want a system that's upgradeable in d future, i suggest u go with a socket 939 system. its 64 bit n supports dual channel. its better to spend a lil xtra now than to change ur whole system later n spend more. its just a suggestion, i'm not forcing u.
__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD¬ĪR/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 07:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I would not trust bestbuy. They are assuming you will buy your components from them when you go to them to have them look at your comp. Take it to a computer shop. they will tell you what's wrong within the day and they would have higher quality stuff than what you will find at bestbuy or compusa.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 07:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
Perfect combo for you:
Mobo- http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-184&depa=1

CPU- http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-439&depa=1

HS w/fan- http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...106-037&depa=1

The cpu can be overclocked to athlon xp 3200 speeds (2.2ghz) with that air cooling since it is mobile meaning it doesn't produce as much heat. In my opinion it has the best performance:value ratio.

does that mobo have a video card with it.
__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 02:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

No it doesn't, how much would you be able to spend on a video card?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 03:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
No it doesn't, how much would you be able to spend on a video card?
umm none, thats why i picked another abit motherboard that has intergrated graphcis and onboard video.
__________________

__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.