Upgrading Graphics Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2005, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default Upgrading Graphics Cards

Hello,

I am considering upgrading my Video Card to an ATI X300 PCI express card (from an ATI Radeon 9000). I was wondering whether this would be a good step as i haven't found a site yet where i can compare graphics cards to each other. I was also wondering whether i would need a new PSU (as i'm not sure if it'd work on a 300watt PSU, or if i'd need a new Mobo.

My current specs are as so:

AMD XP 1700+
Shuttle Ak32a mainboard
512mb Ram
ATI Radeon 9000 pro
300 Watt PSU (not sure of make)

PS. PCI Express cards use the PCI slots yes?
PPS. I'm on a budget, which is why its a X300 not an X800
__________________

Triarii is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 05:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

pci express is a totally different thing to aGP (what u have)
for pci express cards u need a totally different type of motherboard..

and i dont think upgrading from a 9000 to a x300 is gona do much for u ... u mite wana look at a more midrange card like the 9600pro/xt or something
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 05:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

PCI-E is not the same as a regular PCI slot. Completely different more up-to-date hardware.

You need an AGP card for that board.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 05:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the quick reply. The 9600 doesn't cost much more that the x300 so i might give that a shot. Thanks
Triarii is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 05:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

actually 1 last question, is there anywhere i can compare an ATI 9600 against an Nvidia FX5500?
Triarii is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 05:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

as long as its a 9600pro / xt the 5500 doesnt stand much of a chance against it at all
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 06:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
as long as its a 9600pro / xt the 5500 doesnt stand much of a chance against it at all
Yup, I got two friends with the 9600XT, one has the 128mb the other has the 256mb version. Both of em whoop up on my FX 5700 so a 5500 would be destroyed
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 06:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

my 5900xt is equivalent to a 9600XT, so anything in the fx range is not worth your money now. if you can, aim to get a 6600 GT, you will not regret that purchase and it doesn't hurt the wallet like the 6800 GT
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 06:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Soloman02
my 5900xt is equivalent to a 9600XT, so anything in the fx range is not worth your money now. if you can, aim to get a 6600 GT, you will not regret that purchase and it doesn't hurt the wallet like the 6800 GT
Thanks for the Advice. I'll keep it in mind when i need to buy an entirely new PC (though if i do i'll probably get a PCI-E one) as opposed to the older AGP.

Unless the 6600-6800GT are PCI-E?
Triarii is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 06:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

u can get 6600gt and 6800gt in pcie and agp.... agp costs a lil more.. but i spose its for theppl that dont wana make the step to pcie yet
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.