Thermal Paste Application - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2009, 10:08 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Thermal Paste Application

^i can't imagine why?

there are a lot of different ways to apply thermal past, pretty much as long as you are not putting to much, or to little, you should be fine.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 11:09 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 47
Default Re: Thermal Paste Application

Hey guys!

thanks for all the info =p i just went ahead and stuck some on the cpu =p and it works fine =p
38oC idle! thats not bad right? its better than the 90oC i was getting before!!

i'll post some photos of it soon ^^
__________________

Leatherface is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 12:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Thermal Paste Application

38C sounds much more reasonable.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 12:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 47
Default Re: Thermal Paste Application

im using the TRUE 120 like u recommened hef ^^ so at load...should i expect something around 50oC?
Leatherface is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 01:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Thermal Paste Application

for stock steeds that is about right.

Depends upon ambient temp.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 01:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 47
Default Re: Thermal Paste Application

its about 40oC ambient! i think....i cant remember what it said in the bios =p!

but i dont think i will be able to test it at full load yet! vista is slapping me all over!
Leatherface is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 02:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Thermal Paste Application

ambient temp is the temperature in the room that the computer is in.

The hotter the room temp the hotter the cpu will be.

As example right now my room temp (ambient temp) is 20C.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 02:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 47
Default Re: Thermal Paste Application

oh...well i feel silly....i though u meant the overall case temp.....yea its about 22oC
Leatherface is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 03:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Thermal Paste Application

artic silver also has a setting period while TX-2 doesn't.....

anyway, it looks like you applied it right
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 07:33 AM   #20 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: Thermal Paste Application

Hey I got a question about thermal paste for CPUs... does the stuff ever go bad? I've had a tube for like 3+ years now I think with some still in it... lol
__________________

Patiszerg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermal Paste Application Puressence Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 03-24-2009 01:02 PM
MX-2 or TX-2 thermal paste? smashedpumpkins Overclocking and Modding 18 08-12-2008 08:57 PM
Best Thermal Paste Application Methods Fat.Clown Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 05-22-2008 05:29 PM
Best technique for applying thermal paste? Mordred Overclocking and Modding 14 01-29-2008 01:39 PM
Tuniq thermal paste questions... Raknor Overclocking and Modding 2 10-28-2007 09:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.