Socket 939 Opterons - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2005, 02:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default Socket 939 Opterons

Has any of you had experience or used or have a system with one of the new Opteron 1xx series for 939 boards. How do they perform? How do they overclock, is it a viable solution for a gaming, content creation rig?

Wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 03:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Wow I can't believe I missed this thread. The 939 opterons are very good chips. They overclock better than damn near any venice.

http://www.hardwareasylum.com/forums...read.php?t=756
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 03:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

in those screenies, it says he is using a 940 opteron, i am interested in the new Socket 939 Opterons
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 03:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Oh, WTF... That's a 939 board. He told me it was a 939.

Still, I know that those 939's OC really well and are stable, don't put out much heat and is good for gaming.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ht=Opteron+939
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 03:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

even the cheap opterons run on the same core as the FX57
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 03:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

... I would say go for a 146. They are cheap and I am posotive that you will enjoy it!
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 03:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the current 939 Opterons are just an A64 San Diego with a different name. I'm not sure if they have a locked or unlocked multiplier though.
and a San diego is just a Venice with twice the L2 cache.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 04:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

I heard they do have unlocked multipliers
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.