Socket 939 Heatsink (need one) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2005, 07:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default Socket 939 Heatsink (need one)

I'm going to get a 3200 winchester or venice (if it arrives here soon) and will be overclocking but don't know which heatsink and fan I'll need to handle the heat.

Recommendations?
__________________

hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 07:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

how much have you got?

this is a very good one. http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...118-115&depa=0
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 08:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Will that be any good at overclocking? 2.4Ghz + ????
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 09:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Actually that's not compatible with my lanparty, it's too big for it.

I really need one that'll be great for overclocking.
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 10:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

That one is great for OCing. Best on the market.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 10:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

not the best actually. thermalright have the best two, either the xp120, which is huge and only fits sum boards or the new xp90c which fits all the boards its been teast on, they both cool to about the same temp (2-3C lower than that zalman) my 3200 goes upto 2.6 np but have it back down abit just to keep it happy
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 11:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

The ThermalTake XP120 is a very good performer, but it's design is also it's down fall. Like it was mentioned above, it simply doesn't fit on some MOBOS. Here is a site that lists it's compatibilities.
http://www.short-media.com/review.php?r=254

The xp90c is new and I haven't heard very much about it. It does look a bit smaller in design and it is all copper. All Copper is a good thing. Can't say much about it. ThermalTake is a very good company though, across the board.

My choice would be a "Zalman (all copper) 7700" or "Zalman 7000" it depends on your wallet.

I have the Zalman (all copper) 7700, it keeps my FX-55 extremely cool. USE Artic Silver 5 only!!!
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 12:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

The 7700 won't fit my LanParty board but...

The 7000B-CU will but I'm not sure about the ThermalTake XP120, can't get any info about it. But I guess it's a choice between the two, opinions?


Personally I'm thinking about the 7000B-CU, I've read good review for it and it offers the same CPU cooling as the 7700 and is guaranteed to fit my motherboard.

Plus it's £6 cheaper than the XP120 (which might not fit my board) and needs a 120mm fan.
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 01:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

hewhohasissues, i posted a link that clear outlines and gives plenty of info on the XP120, it even has a chart of MOBO's that it fits and MOBO'S that it doesn't fit.

Check it out!
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 01:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

I have a LanParty SLI and it's not on there :s
__________________

hewhohasissues is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.