Which slots for 2 memory sticks ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2004, 02:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65
Default Which slots for 2 memory sticks ?

My new system comes with a single 512 Mb memory module.
I have ordered 1 Gb Corsair XMS memory -Paired( 2 512Mb modules )

If I only used the 1Gb Corsair memory which 2 slots do I use on the motherboard ( left, center,right )?

f I use all 3 modules ( they all match - PC 3200 - 400 ) do I put the 2 corsair modules which are paired in a spesific order and the remaining module in the one thats left oper or how does it work.

Any help will be much appreciated.

jjjdup is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 05:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393

if you're using all three i doubt the order will matter... but if you're only using two start with the slot that is towards the back of the case or closest to the processor

\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718

Well first off you need to find out weather ut bord is dual channel cause if the ram is paried then its dual channell and i think dual channel ram only works in a dual channel bord not shure though but if there not then the order shouldnt matter
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 01:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65

Don't know what motherboar it is, but it's a Athlon 64 3200.
jjjdup is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 01:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 118

If you have three slots, can you run dual channel in two and still use the third to your advantage?
My new toy!
AMD XP 3200+ Barton
1 GB Corsair Pro Series XMS Extreme Memory DDR400 (dual channel)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro 256 Mb
DFI Lanparty NFII Ultra B
WD 74 GB 10,000 RPM Raptor
Aspire X-Alien Case with 420 watt PS
Lite On Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
Sony Floppy Drive
Logitech Cordless MX Duo
XP Pro
blackwrx is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 02:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 40

The amd 64 3200 doesn't have a motherboard that is dual channel compatible, only the 3500 64 and up use the 939 socket type which supports the dual channel ram.
darkknight206 is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 11:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65

so i can put them in any order
jjjdup is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 11:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807

As MicroBell and others have stated, for your specific case, the order does not matter. The answer is yes.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 12:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65

great thanks.

jjjdup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.