slight lag in games on newly built pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2004, 07:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default slight lag in games on newly built pc

i got a couple of games for xmas (half life 2 and medal of honour Pacific assult.) - along with this pc that i built a couple of weeks before.

anyway, i don't have any lag with half life 2 but i have a couple of settings on medium, how could i get it onto the highest settings with no lag? (the resolution i have is 1280 X 1024 the (highest my monitor will go))

on medal of honour i have to have the settings on medium and the resolution 1024 X 768 and i get a slight lag when moving the mouse fast (not alot going on at the same time) and in a ingame movie thing or when there is quite alot going on i get really bad lag (unplayable really)

would getting more ram (so i have 1024mb dual channel) enable me to have the games on higher settings with no lag? Would i ever need to have more than that amount of ram (1.5gb) to play games in the near future as i would have used up all the slots for ram due to using dual channel, can i use different amounts of dual channel ram modules (2x256 and 2x 512) as long as they are the same ram as before.

What else could i do to get my games better looking and smoother (considering im on a tight budget because i just brought this pc) would doing some overclocking help, or unlocking the extra 4 pipelines on my 6800 and overclock that to gt/ultra speeds?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 07:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

im running the 6800 in my home PC and it runs those games pretty smooth on high settings.What about MB chipset updates
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 08:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Updated my mb drivers, that seems to have made things a bit smoother, ill try uping the detail settings later and see what happens. Another question: would downloading an AMD 64 driver do anything useful???
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.