SIMM ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2003, 10:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Question SIMM ram

I found this site that is dedicated to hardware, I've being wanting to ask this question for a long time so could someone please correct me if im wrong. I've put the [How to write to memory] and [How to Read from memory] in step by step tasks in the order i think a computer does both of these things. Remember im not interested in how DIMM, DRAM or any other ram does the read and write tasks. I only interested in how SIMM ram does the job OK, so please correct me if I'm wrong.

How to write to memory:

Set CAS0 and RAS0 HIGH.
Understand that DQ1-DQ8 will know be active.
Set address 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 (First memory Byte).
Set WE LOW to write.
Send data Byte Through DQ1-DQ8
Stop data being sent.
Set address 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Set WE HIGH (idle mode) default mode when not in use.)
Set CAS0 and RAS0 LOW.
end

How to Read from memory:

Set CAS0 and RAS0 HIGH.
Understand that DQ1-DQ8 will know be active.
Set address 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 (First memory Byte).
WE is set as default HIGH to Read.
Expect data to come out from DQ1-DQ8.
Set address 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Set CAS0 and RAS0 LOW.
end

Who ever i think gives a good response or tells me something i don't know about SIMM ram will get a response to one of your postes from me. Remember you reply to me, i reply to you, if you meet the requirments of a good response to this message.

Thanks in advance!

__________________

wasssup1990 is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Default

I know this message is a bit long but can someone respond.
__________________

wasssup1990 is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 07:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yea, I am not sure what your point is either?
But, during the read and write cycles, doesn't each bit get addressed through a series of 11 bits for a total of 22? You have 12 in each and therefore a total of 24. But then again...I'm not really sure what your point is?!?!

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 05:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Default

Its ok now, I've learn't what I needed to know from another forum.
wasssup1990 is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 05:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

What???
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 05:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

an other forum also dedicated to hardware

__________________

XT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.