Should I RMA this Ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2005, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default Should I RMA this Ram?

I've already posted about this problem in the building section, but I know a lot more people will read it here, and I would like to make an informed decision about whether I should RMA this ram:


I built my computer a few days ago .

Yesterday I tried my hand at some slight overclocking. I have a DFI NF4 lanparty Ultra, 3200 vence, 1gb twinmos ram. I wasnt going for any records, but just wanted to experiment a little. I set my fsb up to 205 and had no problems. At 210 I started getting typical program crashing errors. I upped the ram voltage a little and the chipset voltage, the program errors went away.

I decided to use prime95 to torture test my pc while I slept and give the new HSF/AS5 a good work out. Too bad I got an error on the first test. I set EVERYTHING back to stock. Got the same error. So, I used my bios' memtest86, which is conveniently bulit in. Well, I let it run for about 7.5 hours and I recieved a whopping 17,384 errors, at stock!

I've got a 480w Antec NeoPower psu, all FOUR power connections plugged in on the power hungry board... I don't think any other components would cause the problem. I had run memtest earlier with some slight overclock and it only produced one error in the first minute, while by that time stock was up at like 100 errors.

What's up with that? Should I RMA the ram?
__________________

__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Ok look at your Twinmos ram. What are the last 4 letters? Did you get your ram off of newegg? When? I have been warning people about Twinmos ram. They don't have WInbound UTT chips in them anymore. I would go and return it, pay the 15% restocking fee and get the OCZ Value 1gb ram that is 105 dollars at newegg.
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 05:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah, unfortunately now with those it's a toss up...you might get lucky assuming the last 4 letters are what....AA4t I think it is and they'll be winbond UTT....otherwise you'd need what HACP has, the speed premiums.
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 05:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

i dont think you would be able to get a replacement as you have broken the ram by oc'ing. but you dont have to tell the suppliers that i suppose... what are winbond chips? what do they do?
joshd is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 06:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Which "last four letters" are you talking about? There's the P/N which ends in CADT, the Model No which ends in J16A-TT.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 06:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Is the OCZ Value good OC'ing ram? I originally got these chips cuz they were getting a repuation for being good overclockers .
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 06:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

They were getting a good reputation, unfortunately they stopped binning them with the Winbond chips which are known for good OC's =/

Bastards...

The ValueRAM isnt gonna want to OC very far as well.....it's hard to say at this point, it's either RMA it and hope that perhaps you'll have the grace of god with you and get a good pair, or refund it, save up for something better.
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 07:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You can get stuff like Mushkin Redline BH-5 chips for not too much, although tcc* chips aren't much more expensive than it, Rev2s are dirt cheap as far as I am aware and I'm sure there's others who aren't far off

http://www.newegg.com/OldVersion/app...146-387&depa=1
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 08:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Hey check these out:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146355
mushkin XP3200 Dual Pack 1GB (2 x 512MB)
Cas Latency: 2
Timing: 2-2-2
Voltage: 2.5V-2.8V
Heat Spreader: Yes
[b]Samsung TCCD [b]

$167!
I want to get them.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 08:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

I've actually decided to return the TwinMos and get some Patriot XBLK and hope for TCCD chips, if not, it should still be pretty good. Thanks all for the help!
__________________

__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.