Setting up my first pc... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2004, 06:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 24
Default Setting up my first pc...

Hello all. I am eager to learn as much as possible about computers, given that I finally have some funds avalible to buy components. As I am completely new to the world of building one's own PC, I don't know where to start.

I have between $500-600 Canadian dollars to spend on the case components (Moniter, mouse, keyboard speakers etc are taken care of). I want to eventually have a mega powerfull gaming system that will easily handle games like "hl2" "Doom 3" and "World of warcraft", but for now I am content with playing games "Diablo 2", "Counterstrike" and "Myst 3", so for now, it just needs to run games like that. I know I don't need much power to run those games, but I do need a motherboard that is affordable, reliable and upgradable with lots of room for memory (As I have been told) so that I can upgrade it to be able to play those ubber powerfull games.

What are the steps to building a system? Where should I go to get current, up-to-date info? Any books I should buy? I am all alone in the venture so I don't know what to do. Any and all help and advice will be much appreciated.

thanks,

-Computer illiterate, wannabe reclusive computer guru
__________________

pcgodintraining is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 06:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Study alot before you jump into it . Its not hard to do and knowing how to go about it before hand is a good idea .
Putting the sytem together no the ins and outs of the Motherboard(Manual) /Setting up your bios/ Installing Operating Systems and Drivers are areas of study.I started out with old computers i found that people throw out along the road.Taking them apart and tinkering with the Hardware understanding how its put together etc...
Theres alot of information available likePC Mechanic
is a good place to start .Copy the files and make your own little study book . For reference as you go .Good luck and enjoy the experience
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 06:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to seCuredData Send a message via Yahoo to seCuredData
Default

The most effective way to learn would be to open a computer up for yourself. Learn the abbreviation and name of each component, cable, connector, and what they do. Theres also great guides to read upon scattered all over the net. Also I wouldn't try to learn on a machine thats too old keep it ATX form factor(whats being used right now)
seCuredData is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 08:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

www.mysuperpc.com is a nice guide for building a PC. I think it will be a good idea to take your current computer apart and checkout all the parts and how it fits together. You can post a picture on this forum if you are unsure about anything.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 02:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

how much is 500-600 canadian dollars in american dollars??
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 02:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

o alright. i just got it that it's like 350-450ish american dolars

hmmmm.. How should i put this..

save some more up and buy later. You don't have enough money to buy a decent cpu, mobo, video card, ram, hard drive, cd burns, psu, case. Well, you could get like a athlon 64 2800+, a mobo, value rams, a 9600 XT??? and with case u'll be like at the 500 american dollarish line. With 500-600 canadian dollars you won't be able to get a computer that will "easily handle games like "hl2" "Doom 3" and "World of warcraft"" but if you can save up and buy it later after you've gotten enough knowledge of computers, i would say you will have a fair chance in getting a good computer.
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 05:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 24
Default

Thanks geo3tech. I figured as such. But I was mainly concerned with getting a motherboard and processor that would be able to handle HL2 and D3 if paired with a high-end vid-card etc, because, as I said, I don't need or want to play those ubber games right away. I want to play Diablo 2 for god's sake! Haha! I want to know if I can GET a motherboard that will be able to eventually run those big games well, it doesn't need to run them right away. Any sugestions?
pcgodintraining is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 03:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

MOBO isn't what produces the power for games. It's the processor. MOBO's have some helping hands but it's basically how fast your CPU is. Almost any game play diablo 2 so you don't really need to ask for which kind, it's just anything.

Again, it's not the mobo, it's the processor and video card. If you want to get a computer that can play hl2 or d3, i'd recommend getting a video card that is better then a radeon 9600. Anything better then a 9600 will play half life 2 and also it'll play doom 3. It won't be as good but think about it this way, you can play it.
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 04:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 73
Default

i think ram would also help as well =]
__________________
<font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana\"><Color=\"red\">Under The Hood</font></color>
Blake is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 04:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

oh yeah. ram. would help too


pcgodintraining never mentioned that he needed ram so i presumed he already had it.
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.