Sd Ram? Ddr Ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2008, 01:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Default Sd Ram? Ddr Ram?

According to Everest

i have

System Memory 1024 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)

when i searched it up, theres DDR and SD RAM

i want to buy more RAM. so should i buy a DDR ram or a SD RAM? lol. i'm so confused about both of em.

and if i buy ram, does the MHz matter? mine is 200 right now, do i need to buy a 200 Mhz too>
__________________

r3n3r4d3 is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 02:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Sd Ram? Ddr Ram?

SDR is the old standard (mid to late 90s) for RAM and runs at a top speed of 133mhz. It is definitely not compatible with your board or any current ones at this point. DDR is a newer standard, current until 1-2 years ago. DDR2 is the new standard.

So you would, of course, want DDR memory. Your memory (PC3200) runs at 400mhz so that is what you would want to buy. Slower speeds are compatible but not as fast so there's not really a point in buying them. How many memory slots do you have open and what is your maximum? If you don't know just use the Crucial Scanner, it'll tell you everything. Just click on "Scan My System" and let it do it's thing.

Memory upgrades, flash media, and usb storage at Crucial.com
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 03:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Sd Ram? Ddr Ram?

pc3200 is also known as DDR1-400 if you go looking for it.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Midlands, England.
Posts: 45
Send a message via MSN to Really Useful Matt
Default Re: Sd Ram? Ddr Ram?

Oh, and another point OP - If your RAM's only running at 200MHz, then up it to it's full potential in the BIOS.
__________________
CompTIA Certified A+ 601, 602, 603 & 604, Network+

If you want a follow up to any of my posts, use the 'Quote' feature. I believe this should notify me of your further enquiry. If not, just send me a message.
Really Useful Matt is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 01:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Default Re: Sd Ram? Ddr Ram?

i think my mb holds up to 4GB of ram. fastest is DDRs, cant hold DDR2. so if i want more ram, i should get 1GB DDR PC3200 400MHz right?

i currently have 2 512s. and i think i need more.
r3n3r4d3 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Sd Ram? Ddr Ram?

umm.. I would just buy two 1gb sticks and use those instead. Should be around $50. Its not good to mix different brands/models of ram. Plus it wont allow you to run them dual-channel mode.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 09:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Default Re: Sd Ram? Ddr Ram?

its around 50$ each. lol. yea i proably buy 2 x 1GB PC3200 for now, then buy two more later. thanks guys!
r3n3r4d3 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 10:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: Sd Ram? Ddr Ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Really Useful Matt View Post
Oh, and another point OP - If your RAM's only running at 200MHz, then up it to it's full potential in the BIOS.
If the ram is running @ 200Mhz its all ready at its rated speed
Shumway is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 10:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Midlands, England.
Posts: 45
Send a message via MSN to Really Useful Matt
Default Re: Sd Ram? Ddr Ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shumway View Post
If the ram is running @ 200Mhz its all ready at its rated speed
Not necessarily. I have a computer with a BIOS that offers options up to 400MHz. It is a proprietary BIOS mind you, so he may or may not be given options in that format.

Either way, if he has an option to go higher, why not?
__________________
CompTIA Certified A+ 601, 602, 603 & 604, Network+

If you want a follow up to any of my posts, use the 'Quote' feature. I believe this should notify me of your further enquiry. If not, just send me a message.
Really Useful Matt is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 10:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default Re: Sd Ram? Ddr Ram?

For the record, DDR is a type of SDRAM. SDRAM is the type (dynamic RAM [DRAM] vs static RAM [SRAM]). DDR refers to the fact that it transmits data on the rising AND falling edge of the clock, instead of just the rising edge.
__________________

__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM
High density ram upgrade Inigo_Montoya System Upgrades 0 02-24-2008 11:50 PM
RAM wont boot Sheepykins Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 01-09-2008 05:59 AM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.