SCSI Hard Disk Backup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2003, 03:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Question SCSI Hard Disk Backup

Asking for a more robust backup process of SCSI hard disks. I need to know how to duplicate a copy of a SCSI hard disk installed in our machines. COuld I use a normal PC with a SCSI controller and just set it up using mirroring techniques where Operating system resides on an IDE hard disk of that PC..

Any better idea would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

acaba is offline  
Old 09-23-2003, 09:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Do you have your system set up in a RAID config? What is your end goal? Are you just trying to backup one PC daily or on the fly all the time?
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-23-2003, 08:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Each machine has only a single SCSI Hard Disk. I know the RAID Stuff from 1 to 5 then 10 (and server Fault Tolerant Systems). The single SCSI hard disk has a proprietary Operating System when attached to a Desktop PC (with SCSI controller of course) the PC wont boot.
End Goal: to copy the image of SCSI hard disk to anther hard disk with same model for easier restoration when hard disk crashes.
acaba is offline  
Old 09-24-2003, 11:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Norton Ghost. Since you are using the same size drives, and you want the exact same info, it would be your best bet I think.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-24-2003, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 39
Default

their is also a app called drive image, disk to disk option, copies really fast..... norton is also good, just prefer and use drive image here at work, although have never used it on SCSI before....

good luck!
beefy696969 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.