SATA 3 Cables - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2011, 10:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Question SATA 3 Cables

I did a brief Google search, but didn't see anything. Is there something that splits the SATA3 data cable?

I have 2 HDD's, 2 SSD's, a Blu-Ray drive and a CD/DVD RW drive. All 6 SATA slots on my MoBo are used. I want to take my old HDD from my dead desktop and install it into my PC so I can use the data on it. I really hate having to open my tower up every time and disconnect another drive and plug it in to use it. I wanted to see if there was an adapter where I can split one line coming out of my MoBo into two so I can hook up two drives.

Does anyone know if this can be done, and where can I get it?

Edit: Can this be done using a RAID card?
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 10:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: SATA 3 Cables

No, you can't get a 'SATA splitter'
But you could just buy a SATA3 PCI-E card to give you more available ports.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 06:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: SATA 3 Cables

Does it work similar to a RAID card? Or are they one in the same? The reason I ask is I have an extra RAID card laying around and I'd like to use it if possible instead of buying something new.
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 06:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: SATA 3 Cables

It's basically a RAID card, but usually without the RAID functionality.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 07:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: SATA 3 Cables

Never hurts to try I guess...
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 07:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SATA 3 Cables

You can use a Raid card without setting the drives up in an array. The question will be whether your card has Win7 drivers.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 08:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: SATA 3 Cables

Ya that may be the pickle.

Would this work? That is what I currently have.
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 08-02-2011, 08:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SATA 3 Cables

It might. According to that Amazon link it supports Vista so you may be able to use those drivers.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-02-2011, 12:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: SATA 3 Cables

It didn't work. I'll just go on Newegg and get a new one. Thanks anyway guys.
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
are all the SATA cables compatible with first generation SATA motherboards rookie1010 System Upgrades 6 04-06-2008 11:15 PM
SATA and SATAII cables Trifid System Upgrades 2 06-11-2006 09:19 AM
SATA cables? bball100 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 11-26-2005 10:51 AM
SATA Cables Dark_Sniper* Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 04-17-2005 06:13 PM
SATA Cables & Drives Megadeth2 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 11-16-2004 05:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.