S-ATA problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2005, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default S-ATA problem

Argh!
Win XP takes 5 minutes to load!

I've added second S-ATA controller (first one was integrated in my mobo)

It takes about 2 secs when BIOS have check that everything is okay.
Few seconds when the S-ATA controllers have found the drives.

Then screen turns black and it seems it is jammed, but it is not.
About 5 minutes and Windows XP loading sequence begins (that white bar in bottom of the black screen)

What is wrong? Or is this the price you have to pay for additional S-ATA controllers? (I once had PATA-100 controller and it didn't slow XP loading)

Everything works great but this is annoying!
__________________

__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

:amazed: How many drives you have? I doubt theres many people with a sata controler card yet, sata is still too new. I hate to say it, but probably tech support is your only option.
__________________

Sui is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

Eh, I have 4 SATA drives and 2 IDE drives
I hope someone knows what to do..

But well, I rarely turn my computer off..
__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 04:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

Well theres a plan Might want to search the manufacurers website, might be a known issue or something.
Sui is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 04:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I have a SATA drive, but it didn't at all slow down anything in XP and it's not a 10K rpm drive or anything it's 7200RPM just SATA opposed to IDE.

Are your onboard SATA ports filled and you're using one of those that you have to plug into the PCI slot and plug your SATA cable into that? Because if that's the case then they've been known to be sluggish for data transfer.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 04:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Posting your system specifications would help. :P

Defragment your hard drives and scan for all viruses, spyware and adware. Disable as much as possible via msconfig and check your processes in the task manager, take screenshot, and if it's not too much trouble, post the screenshot here.

The problem is probably locating the boot sector though. Basically, upon boot up your system will scan all devices in a specific order (managed through the BIOS), and will boot from the first one it finds. The more drives and boot devices your system has to wad through, the longer it will take to locate the boot sector.

I'm not exactly sure how you would correct this problem, you could try eliminating as many boot devices as possible that you don't need, but the only other thing I can think of is simply keeping your drives as clean and organized as possible so that your system can locate the boot sector faster.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 05:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

I have Asrock K7VT6 mobo
http://www.asrock.com/product/product_k7vt6.htm

And
this kind of SATA card
http://www.falgo.net/pd1415770373.htm?defaultVariants={EOL}&categoryId=4

Yes, thats all very cheap stuff

I have 2 drives in SATA card and 2 drives in mobo, so all the SATA:s are full.

Good you mentioned the boot sectors, all my drives are in 1 partition and all of them are bootable. This is because if something happens to my boot drive, I can install OS to any of them without losing data on them by formatting.
Maybe I should try disabling other boot devices in BIOS
__________________

__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.