really pissing me off now - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2004, 10:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 164
Default really pissing me off now

ok,

I have a 40 gig hd that is horribly fragmented and i cannot fix that.

I used the windows defragmenter but that isnt very effective. I got advice from a friend to download "Diskeeper" and it works slightly better than the windows and it tells me more about my hardrive but it still ony defrags like 5 percent of my hardrive!

so more than half of my hd is "red" thats 3.45 fragments a file.

I have 16 percent free now and im running it again but i highly expect it to crap out again.

Suggestions? Anyone?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg untitled-1 copy.jpg (57.2 KB, 22 views)
__________________

Forceflow is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 11:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

Cant you just reinstall it all.Only thing i really have trouble defragging are kazaa DL's.Then again stuff i really want to keep go straight to DvD.
__________________

Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 04:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik
Default

I would tell you to back up anything you need, reformat, reinstall windows, then reinstall your software. I think your hard drive is past help.
Erik is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 04:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

I think ur not killin' other processes running in the background

Try killin' all other apps n' then defragmenting the drive
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 08:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 164
Default

preet2u that isn't the problem, my hardrive is just fragmented. There arn't many applications running.

As for reformating the only thing i will loose is my starcraft because ive lost my cd key and if i have to reninstall i will need it again. but i will most likely have to do that when WoW comes out anyways to make room for it (it is over 5 gigs)!
Forceflow is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 08:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 164
Default

btw its down to 2.16 fragments a file now. I just going to fix it to defrag every day at 6 pm or somthings and maybe in two weeks it will be ok. lol.
Forceflow is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 08:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Put the slave the hard drive in on another computer with the same OS. Then defrag / scan disk from there.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 10:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah, when the computer boots, put in the 2000/XP CD and go to the recovery console; from there type chkdsk and it should tell you if there are any errors on the hard disk
I'm, assuming you have 2000 or XP because you have the "documents and settings" folder
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-18-2004, 07:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 164
Default

well whatever the problem is, its gone, everything is gone. We have to give our computer away to my brother at university. So i reformatted and now its gone. *sniff*

i kept my graphics card and this weekend we are going part shopping. from a clone store i found a really good deal

2.6 intel with HT
512 ddr
52X reader
52X writer
ASUS p4p800 deluxe
black ultra crazy super quiet Lian Li case
and a 80 gig hd

for 950 with tax added, but i need to build it.

I will put in my geforce 4 ti4200 from my old computer.
__________________

Forceflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.