Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2005, 05:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default Ram

I am running with 512mb PC3200...
Also I have a stick of 256mb PC2700 in there, I know it will underclock my the other ram to 2700. Even when I only had the 512mb stick in there it said frequency is still at 133Mhz..

My FSB is 400Mhz..

On CPU-Z it says that my ram is running at 133Mhz..
When it should be 200Mhz..
Also in CPU-Z there is a section labled
"FSBRAM" which is 3:4

I talked to Nubius and he said that this is a bottleneck..

Why is it running at PC2100 speeds ?

Should I post screen shots ?
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Hmmm...

You could try going into BIOS, setting your RAM frequency to 'Auto'.... Does your Mobo support DDR400? Just a thought...

Oh and yes, if you use the DDR333 stick, then the DDR400 stick will be underclocked to match.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 05:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

You should see how bad mine is, CPU: DRAM = CPU/11
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Post a screen shot of CPU-Z, specifically the CPU tab and the Memory Tab
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 06:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

FSB:RAM ratio should be set to 1:1 if you aren't overclocking.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 07:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I am overclocking :-p

Memory tab: http://img66.exs.cx/img66/1562/cpuz21ir.jpg
CPU tab: http://img52.exs.cx/img52/8998/cpuz15ap.jpg
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 08:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

1:1 baby I haven't tried for higher FSB's in a while, buuut I'm pretty sure 240 is about the max highest I could get with a socket A system a 1gb of RAM.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 08:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Meh you have decent ram :-p
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 08:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Guaranteed by the manufacturer to up to 266MHz(DDR533) Wouldn't doubt if it could go higher, buuuut I'll never find out with a socket A system
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 08:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Im still curious to what i should get, i need a new PSU, a better video card, and good ram.... But you know what is going on and i can only get one of them 3 for a very very long time... Just dont know what i need the most....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.