RAID array help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2005, 01:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Default RAID array help

Hey everyone. I'm new here and looking for some help. I have a couple of questions about RAID arrays and I figured you guys could help me out. I want to set up a RAID 0 array on my comp(for gaming), but I don't really know what setup would work best. 2 HDD's at 10000 RPM or 3 or more HDD's at 7200 RPM? It seems to me that the popular setup is 2 at 10000. Could someone shed some light on this? Secondly, I don't know what type of controller to get. I have an Intel 865GLC mobo, and Intel's website says that the mobo "supports RAID technology", but I don't exactly know what that means. Are there any previous post, websites or books that someone can refer me to for answers. I'm sorry to ask such a simple question, but I'm new to upgrading comp's and I'm looking for some help. Thanks
__________________

MrT* is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 01:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 84
Default

I would go with 10000 rpm. Mainly because it just seems more logical, I mean faster harddrives = faster speed??? I would think so. RAID technology is actually rather old, so most motherboards support it now. Most motherboards come with their own software or built-in RAID arrays/software.
__________________

__________________
Amd 3500 cpu
Abit AV8 mobo
1gb (512x2mb) Corsair XMS low latency ram
ATI X800 XT videocard
36gb Western Digital 10,000rpm HD
2x 80gb Western Digital 7200rpm HDs
Antec neopower 480w psu
Ultra Dragon High Gloss Black Server case
ravin is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 01:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 84
Default

Oh and welcome to the Forums!
__________________
Amd 3500 cpu
Abit AV8 mobo
1gb (512x2mb) Corsair XMS low latency ram
ATI X800 XT videocard
36gb Western Digital 10,000rpm HD
2x 80gb Western Digital 7200rpm HDs
Antec neopower 480w psu
Ultra Dragon High Gloss Black Server case
ravin is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 04:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

I would go with 3 120gig seagate drives. Ive got 2 in raid0 and sis sandra shows me that the difference in transfer speed between mine and 2 10000 raptors is only 2mb/s. so i would of though 3 of these drives would easily out perform the 2 raptors
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 04:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Your motherboard should have came with a floppy disc with a special Raid driver on it, In order to setup the drives to be used with raid you will need to install the driver to these drives befor you format them.... I think... Ive never had the chance to work with raid/sata
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 10:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aj2003
I would go with 3 120gig seagate drives. Ive got 2 in raid0 and sis sandra shows me that the difference in transfer speed between mine and 2 10000 raptors is only 2mb/s. so i would of though 3 of these drives would easily out perform the 2 raptors
When you have 3 of the drives, you are most likely running them in Raid 5 which is basicly a combination of Raid 1 and 0. Something like that, I dont know much about raid
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 10:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
When you have 3 of the drives, you are most likely running them in Raid 5 which is basicly a combination of Raid 1 and 0. Something like that, I dont know much about raid
No man. Raid 5 is a configuration where you have a "parity disk". This is less secure than Raid 1 but has room for more capacity. For example, in Raid 1, if you use 5x120gb disks, ur total capcity will be 120Gb since all disks will contain the redundant information. In Raid 5, 5x120Gb will give you 480Gb (120x4). The last drive is a parity disk. If one disk fails, you can retrieve it by XORing the other 3 disks and the parity disk. If 2 disks fail simultaneously, with Raid 1 you are good. With Raid 5 u are screwed!.. At least it seems that way to me.

Parity disk (disk N) = disk1 XOR disk2 XOR ... XOR .. disk N-1

So every write would entail you to write to the parity disk. 1 read of the current contents of disk X, compare the diffs, and 1 write to the parity disk, and of course 1 write to the disk X itself. At least, that's the best algorithm I can think of. If anyone can do better, post away!

As for the original question, it's difficult to say without benchmarks. Using 1) 3 drives simultaneously vs 2) using 2 faster drives. Certainly, 3 is better than 2, but the 2 are faster...
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.