Raid 0 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2005, 02:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default Raid 0

I currently have two 120GB SATA drives in RAID 0, and my question is can I add in an additional 250GB HDD into my RAID configuration?

Reason I ask, is I'm not sure if the drives need to be the same size, or if you can use an odd number of drives, or must it be even?

Thanks.
__________________

highrisk is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 03:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

well u can. BUT it would be limited to only using 120gig of it, so bit of a waste really. u can use the odd number of drives no problem
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 04:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I don't think you can. I'm pretty sure they have to be the same size.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

you can use any size drives you want in a raid 0/1/0+1 array. BUT the size of the drives will be limited to the smallest drive so ya pointless to get a 5 gb hdd and pair it with a 400gb hdd in a raid 0/1/0+1 array
Panther5060 is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 04:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default

I have...

P4 Prescott 3.2Ghz OC'd to 3.6Ghz
1GB Corsair Value RAM
Dual 120GB SATA 7200RPM HDD's
UATA 80GB HDD for Backup Purposes
AGP 6600GT

I've been thinking about getting a 10000RPM SATA HDD for my Primary Partition, but I was also thinking about expanding my other array with a 250GB HDD from Newegg for $130 - cause I'd like to get rid of my UATA HDD, it slows down POST tremendously.

So, I guess I'll just make it an independant drive.
highrisk is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 04:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Just get two more 120gbs and run a RAID 0+1 array. For me it seems like two 7200rpm hard drives in RAID 0 are faster than my 10k raptor.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 08:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Anyone else believe two 120GB 7200RPM SATA drives in RAID0 are the same speed as a 10000RPM Raptor?
highrisk is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 08:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Yes, only becuase you are using 2 divided into 1. But once you hook up 2 WD Raptors running on raid0, then you have some serious speed. I have that on my system, i can load BF maps in 4-6 seconds.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 09:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default

That's just entirely too expensive, also considering when I purchase any new HDD's - I'll need to get a PCI to SATA controller, as well - seeing my motherboard only has 2 SATA channels...
highrisk is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 09:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

But then he would have to buy new hard drives and very expensive ones at that. I think the RAID 0+1 would give him the best of both worlds. 240GB of very fast storage, and data security for all of it
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.