Raid 0 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2004, 07:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default Raid 0

with my system specs below would i get a noticable speed increase if i bout another identical HDD and ran it in RAID 0? concidering ive got bout 60GBP to spend (bout 120 USD i think)
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 08:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

In short, NO. RAID only decreases disc access time for data to be stored in your RAM. so you would notice that your levels (games) would load faster. If you use your computer as a network base, depending on the number of poeple on your network, THEY might notice an improvement. Get a new video card and you will definitely see an improvement in fps and video quality. The X800 is very expensive for now so I would go for the 9800 PRO or the XT depending on the money available and then get some RAM
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 08:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

im sorry, but i didnt see anything mentioned about games in the above question.

Depending on what you use your computer for will depend on whether you will notice an increase in speed or not. Your HD performance will definately increase. In theory it would double, but in reality it is much less than this. However it would still be significant. Loading times for all your applications (windows as well) will decrease. Copying files will also increase. However from here not much else will be different. RAID 0 is only a minor part of having a KICK *** computer.

But during games, no not much difference would be noticed.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 08:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Although nothing about game was mentioned, aj2003 specs, mainly the video card, speak for themselves. As my previous post notes, any app load time will be definitely better, but unless you use your computer as Network base or CAD (but then you would not go toward a gaming card but a precision card) or video editing or any other program which are HDD request intensive, there is no noticeable gain to get by going to RAID 0.
I would still get the video card upgrade.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 12:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

Yea you'll see some speed increase, for loading applications and games, but processor heavy applications won't see much of a difference. Would definitly decrease winodws start-up time.
__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 01:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

i think i will just leave it for now tbh i dont need it. will wait till i get paid next month and buy a gud grpahics card and another hard drive then i should be set till i need more ram thanks
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.