Radeon 9800 Pro Graphics Tearing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2005, 11:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default Radeon 9800 Pro Graphics Tearing

I seem to be getting ALOT of tearing in my graphics when i run my games. I can't seem to figure out the problem.

System Specs.
-DirectX 9c
-Lastest ATI Drivers Installed
-AGP 8x Enabled
-Asus P4P800 SE Motherboard
-P4 2.6 Processor
-512 MB RAM

Even with my in game graphics turned down to the lowest still doesn't help at all.

Any Help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Calibur is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 04:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129

check your heatsink, if its to hot then you may want to swithc to a better cooler, or if it was like mine (xfx 5200) with no cooler you may want to add a cooling fan. also you may want to add more memory to your agp architecture memory from the bios.

180Mhz is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 04:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 23

When you say tearing do you mean artifacting, or that the images almost seperates at certain points sometimes? It is is the second, then just enable Vsync and the problem will dissapear. It will keep the framerate maximum at the current refresh rate.
mrsp2man is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 10:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 54

Yup...agree. Most likely the issue is either Vsync, which you can turn on in most games via options or it is overheating. Try turning on Vsync first.
gimpycow is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 10:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Just turn on Vsync. I get this problem bad in Doom 3, so I can't even play without Vsync enabled.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 12:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330

sounds like a diagnostics problem,heres how to test it

1.Go to the control panel and select "system"

2.Then go to to "device manager" at the top

3.Click on "display adapters"(under display adapters it should say your video card,then click on it)

4.And some where at the top of that window it should say "diagnostics" click on it

5.There will be a little box with all the diagnostics tests click on one of them and hit "run test"

6.It will do a bunch of weird patterns and stuff DONT BE ALARMED
once its finshed a window will pop up saying if it passed or not


Good Luck!
Amd64Boy is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 02:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2

I cant find this diagnostics thing.
vsync is on and it doesn't help at all.

Calibur is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.