A question about AMD Athlon 64 X2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2005, 09:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 72
Question A question about AMD Athlon 64 X2

Hello I have been looking throught Processors lately and the X2 has caught my eye a few times and i am not sure if i should get it , and before if i would get it i want to no if the Amd Athlone 64 X2 will be compadible with the original 939 Socket motherboards or are there other motherboards made specifically for the AMD Athlon 64 X2?
__________________

freak67 is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default

what is an X2?

show me the link
__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 10:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

AMD dual cores. It might work on some, since they are going to be the same socket. All you will need is a BIOS update.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 10:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Default

All you should need to prepare your s939 mobo is a BIOS update.

Ace, you're kidding right?
Plifzig is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 05:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Heres a link
http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20050509/index.html
, it shows a few benchmarks
freak67 is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 06:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

they are gonna be very nice but games are not optimised for them yet so it doesnt give that much of a performance gain over a single core. If i wanna gonna buy one i would only get the 4400, becuase it has the 1mb cache like the 4800 (the 4200 and 4600 only have 512) but the 4400 is 200mhz slower which is nothing concidering these are venice ( i believe) cores so should overclock nicely well above that 200mhz
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 06:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

A dual core 4800+ at 2.4GHZ will peform the EXACT same as a 3800+ single core at 2.4GHZ in games

And these are manchester / toledo cores and not venice cores
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 06:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

yea but i thought each core was in essence a venice or san diego core but put together to make dual cores they renamed to manchester and toledo?
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 06:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

No, not exactly the same. AMD itself admmited that there will be a small (like .5 percent) decrease in performance in single threaded applications.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 07:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Hacp do you know where AMD admitted this?

It's not true in ANY of the benchmarks for sure
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.