powersupply or mobo???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2003, 03:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Angry powersupply or mobo????

OK, its spring break and my #%@@@ computer isnt working. In the morning i turned on the computer and all is good. Then while on the internet the monitor turns off and the green led turns orange (as if it was in standby) then the cd rom lights go on and HD lights go on and it just sits there.

Nothing happens so i turn it off. Then as it is booting it does the EXACT same thing. Next boot it doesnt even get by the bios screen. If I leave the computer alone for like 2 hours I can come back and go on for like 8 min tops then as I reboot, the time decreaces until I cannot boot anymore. Please help first day of break!!!!

SPECS:
Windows XP professional
Ati 9700pro
512 2700ddr ram
330 watt powersupply
gigabyte 7vrxp 1.1
AMD Athlon 2100+ XP
80 gig IBM HD

NEVER had this problem and computer has been good forever. BTW its been 3 weeks since I installed new 9700 pro and its worked great since then.
__________________

tribe is offline  
Old 04-18-2003, 03:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

Sounds like the power supply to me.
__________________

__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-18-2003, 06:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

It looks like the graphics card isn't getting enough power... remember that the card consumes about 45W, and you should have higher in reserve.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 04-20-2003, 02:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to h4x0r
Default

Looks like its ure psu. Like GeForce said, ure Graphics card might be suckin too much juice. Replace it with a 400 Watt.
h4x0r is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 11:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 10
Default

You never know, I had a similar problem that took me forever to figure out. One day it completely stopped workign and I was pissed. Turned out to be leaky capacitor(s). Check your capacitors for leaks. Just a suggestion
pele_smk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.