Please Help Me (power Supply) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2006, 01:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 159
Default Please Help Me (power Supply)

I currently have a Dimension 9150 with a power supply of 375w and bought a new Radeon® X1900 GT 256MB PCI Express
recomemded by dell themselves. Come to find out now that the graphics card came in that it requires a 400w power supply while mine only has 375w. So I call dell and ask them if there is a mistake here and they come to tell me that the graphics card is not compatible with my Dimension 9150. My question is is there a way that dell can upgrade or I can upgrade my power supply to 400w or more? Or am I going to have to get another graphics cards? If so could someone tell me some real good graphics cards in my specs? Please I need urgent assitance here.
__________________

v930 is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to gailraye
Default

well can i get your svc tag? like pm me and i'll look it up and give you the specs....
__________________

gailraye is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 159
Default

I have everything upgraded to the fullest but the memory card. Just look at the customizbles available in the link above just click the Dimension 9150 Link. I got everything but the graphics card. I currently have the factory Radeon x300 128mb card.
v930 is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 02:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

25 watts shouldnt really matter, have you tried to run the card?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to gailraye
Default

the link is dead...i can pull up your specs in dell...w/ your svctag or svc code located on a white sticker on the system tower
gailraye is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 02:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by King X13
25 watts shouldnt really matter, have you tried to run the card?
nope not yet. Kinda scared that I may harm my pc. This is an awesome graphics card. I really wanna use it but relaly dont want to mess up my pc. The graphics card has its own power cord to the power supply. Any one know what could happen if its 25w under?
v930 is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 02:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

there is nothing needed from his service tag, it comes with a pci express card no matter what and his power suppy is 375 watt. no other info is needed his mobo can handle pci express since it comes with one, he gave his model number that is good enough.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 02:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to gailraye
Default

this is the default power settings:
DC power supply:
Wattage 375 W
Heat dissipation 1280 BTU/hr
Voltage 90 to 135 V and 180 to 265 V at 50/60 Hz
Backup battery 3 V CR2032 Lithium coin cell
--the most obvious of problems that could occur is you could short out your cmos...
gailraye is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 02:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

yeah nothing, at work the dell power supplys are even under what intel suggest for a psu watt. the worst case is your computer wont boot cuz there isnt enough power, other was no harm can come and personally i think it shouldl work anyways its not that big of a difference.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 02:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 159
Default

well I just called ATI themselves and they said that its compatible and 25w isnt that much of a difference as long as I dont have alot of other stuff on it.

This is what I currently have on my pc:

1x 320bg hard drive @ 7200RPM

4x 1 gig ram sticks

2x Dvd Drives

All-In-One Media card reader (for digital camera cards and all) with a 3.5in floppy.

Thats basically it. So should I go ahead and run the card?
__________________

v930 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.