PCI/AGP question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2004, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 102
Default PCI/AGP question

I need to know if my motherboard has a PCI slot or a AGP slot because I am getting a new video card. Either the ATI X700 Pro (if my computer has PCI) or the Radion 9800 Pro if it has AGP. How do I find out which slot my computer has?
__________________

M2k4 is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 10:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

u mean PCI-E rather than PCI?

let us know ur mobo model. and manufacturer.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 10:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 102
Default

Ah, yea I ment PCI-E.
The manufacturer is Cicero, Intel Pentium 4 3.0 Ghz, but I'm not sure how to find the motherboard model.
M2k4 is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

It's pretty easy to tell if you have PCI-E because most boards that come with it have the PCI-E for the graphics card and smaller PCI-E slots for your general things like sound cards and whatnot that are fitted to the new PCI-E standard. They generally have the regular PCI slots perhaps one or two on it.

The PCI-E boards are insanely new man so chances are you have an AGP slot.

We have to know the motherboard model to be able to look up specs. Download CPU-Z and it'll tell your motherboard model and make. You can just google in "CPU-Z" and you'll find multiple resources for it.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 08:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 102
Default

My computer is only about a month old, so if the PCI-E boards are new its most likely that I have one. My motherboard model is SiS-661
M2k4 is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 09:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

M2k4m,

You can find that in your motherbaord manual or goto the mobo manufacturer site to get the details. We need more info on your mobo to check whether it supports PCI-E . sis-661 isn't enuf.
intercodes is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 02:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

i dont think SiS came with PCI-E chipset.

anyway, unlike standard color of brown on 98% motherboards, the PCI-E is coming in Jet black color and is longer than all previous slots, where PCI-E X1 is as small as the old modem riser slots on motherboards (97-2000 era), but are as well black in color usually.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.