PC will not boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2004, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
Default PC will not boot

I'm attempting to replace my motherboard, processor, ram, vid card, and install XP. I installed all of the new components and now my computer does not boot. The power turns on, but there is no beep from bios, and no video output at all. I swapped out the vid card for my old one and got the same results. My first thoughts are that the processor or motherboard are DOA. This is my first Intel processor so I can't swap out that. How can I tell which one is giving me problems, or could there be another issue I'm overlooking?

I've been building and upgrading computers for over ten years, so I'm comfortable with the process. However, I have never ran into this problem before. Any help would be appriciated.
Thank you
Gilmesh
__________________

gilmesh is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 11:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default Re: PC will not boot

Quote:
Originally posted by gilmesh
I'm attempting to replace my motherboard, processor, ram, vid card, and install XP. I installed all of the new components and now my computer does not boot. The power turns on, but there is no beep from bios, and no video output at all. I swapped out the vid card for my old one and got the same results. My first thoughts are that the processor or motherboard are DOA. This is my first Intel processor so I can't swap out that. How can I tell which one is giving me problems, or could there be another issue I'm overlooking?

I've been building and upgrading computers for over ten years, so I'm comfortable with the process. However, I have never ran into this problem before. Any help would be appriciated.
Thank you
Gilmesh
First of all, just to make sure you arent new at PC's, did you apply the thermal paste when putting the processor in, did you get the motherboard in correctly?

If you have done this before, I am for sure you would already know this, but just to make sure!
__________________

Chubz is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 12:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Yeah, I put the thermal paste on the processor. The motherboard went in without a problem (physical installation). It's a Asrock P4S55FX with a Celeron 2.0, and 512 mb PC3200.
gilmesh is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 06:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default Re: PC will not boot

Quote:
Originally posted by gilmesh
I'm attempting to replace my motherboard, processor, ram, vid card, and install XP. I installed all of the new components and now my computer does not boot. The power turns on, but there is no beep from bios, and no video output at all. I swapped out the vid card for my old one and got the same results. My first thoughts are that the processor or motherboard are DOA. This is my first Intel processor so I can't swap out that. How can I tell which one is giving me problems, or could there be another issue I'm overlooking?

I've been building and upgrading computers for over ten years, so I'm comfortable with the process. However, I have never ran into this problem before. Any help would be appriciated.
Thank you
Gilmesh
I had a friend that had that happen, turned out to be a bad motherboard. All the motherboards lights came on but when he sent the board back the manufacturer told him the board is no good and sent him a new one. Maybe you should contact the board manufacturer.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 06:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via ICQ to Big Chub
Default

I also had this problem, I had one of the standoffs that the motherboard mounts onto in the wrong position and it was shorting out the motherboard, it was as simple as removing the motherboard and moving the standoff to the right place and reinstalling the mobo.
Big Chub is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 07:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Big Chub
I also had this problem, I had one of the standoffs that the motherboard mounts onto in the wrong position and it was shorting out the motherboard, it was as simple as removing the motherboard and moving the standoff to the right place and reinstalling the mobo.
Isnt that kinda like dropping a screw over a "live" motherboard? lol

Yeah well I also think my friend damaged his motherboard, in any case it experience symptoms like the ones in this thread. Try it, its a simple test. If not, theres only one thing left, RMA.
__________________

ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.