Pc turn on alone! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2005, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Question Pc turn on alone!

Hi everybody!

My computer turn on alone!!!! HELP!!!
I just made my computer.. with..
Asus P5GDC
PSU Coolermaster realpower 450W
case. Coolermaster CAC T05
and the rest... I guess this is the information that matter...

As I said, after using the computer all day, I turn it off, and when I wake up.. the computer is on!!!!!

Any advice? apart from that I have ghosts at home!

Thanks!!!!!!

Fede
__________________

fedesch is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 05:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

rofl

Are you sure it shut it self down completly? Because during shut down if XP pro gets an BSOD error it will restart. My sisters computer does that no matter what i do because theres something wrong with the motherboard.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 05:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Haha that's spooky, waking up to it turned on.

Check to see if the BIOS has the option "Boot from RTC (Real Time Clock)", and it might be set to "Every Day", at a certain time.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 05:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Yeah, there are some automatic boot options in BIOS that may have been flipped by accident?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 05:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Hi... I checked the BIOS.. but everything is disable in the power options... apart from ACPI APIC SUPPORT that I don´t know what it is.... Any other advise?
There isn´t any error messege when it is shutting down..
thanks

Fede
fedesch is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 05:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265
Default

Temporary fix: Flip the switch on the PSU while you are sleeping...
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3200+
160GB WD HDD
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 06:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by haGGard
Temporary fix: Flip the switch on the PSU while you are sleeping...
Yeah that 'might' work. When I first built my computer I used an unbranded PSU, and the switch on the back didn't do anything! It was always on, regardless of the switch position!
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 07:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

lol man u might have some ghosts or something lol ur sleeping and BAM ur computers on lol thats hilarious if u cant fix it try to get a replacement mobo just tell them its broken and dont go into details lol
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 07:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Has this only happened once, or is it a persistent problem...?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 07:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

persintent problem... do you reckon that it´s the mobo? I do turn the PSU off during the night.. but I paid a lot for this computer and it should work perfect! Do you reckon that ASUS will replace my mobo without any question?
thanks!

Fede
__________________

fedesch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.