one step - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2005, 12:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default one step

What is one step under the 6600 the EVGA makes? Or what is a cheap Video card that could run Half life 2 on half or Doom 3. Sorry for all these Posts I'm making but I need the most help I can get because I need to get these done either today or tommarow.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

the 6200 i think
__________________

__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

nothing less than a 6600GT is going to effectively play HL2 and doom3 on maxed graphics so kep that in mind
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

yeh but a 6200 would run them, if thats all he wants 2 do
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

I want it to not run at max but atleast half.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

well i spose a 6200 would run it. My friend has a 5500 that runs them. but the quality isnt very high
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 01:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

the 6200 isn't worth the money

the 6600gt is

the 6600gt's performance/dollar ratio is much, much better than the 6200

IMO the 6200 is a waste of money
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 01:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

What about the 6600 ''vanilla"
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 01:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

The performane/Ratio might be crap but its still cheaper, i know a heap of people that run those crappy low end cards and play all the new games, and they are happy with them. But they are the kind of people that buy cards based on how much memory it has.
I guess it just depends on wheter you appreciate high performance or not.

what is the 6600 "vannila"?? who makes it?
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 01:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

the "vanilla" is the plain 6600
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.