old system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2007, 03:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default old system

just picked up a system of a friend, motherboard looks in a bad way, there was crusty brown stuff on some capacitators and they looked swollen, is this system safe to use?
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: old system

Nope I doubt it would be safe to use. Can you post a pic of the brown stuff you are referring to??
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Re: old system

brown stuff as in... built up smoke residue over the years by people who smoke while using the computer or brown stuff as in caked on dust?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 03:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: old system

i could pick the brown stuff off so it may be crusted on, i cant post a pic of it coz i've picket it off soz, i doubt it was dust as it was on swollen capacitators but then again they didnt seem to be leeking or whatever they do
Nick is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 03:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Re: old system

thats kind of gross dude lol.
how old is that computer? thats..wow. haha. It amazes me that even computer illiterate people don't think to clean out the computer every now and then.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 03:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: old system

Why would they think about it? They don't clean any of their other electronic devices.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 04:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: old system

its not that old actually, specs are pretty crummy thoug, celeron @1.8Ghz, 256mb PC2100, 40GB seagate. I may get a new mobo like this:

Asrock P4VM890 Socket 478 On board VGA and PCI-E X16 interface 10/100LAN : asr-p4vm89
Nick is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 04:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: old system

He didn't buy that in a computer shop in church stretton did he? because when I was down there over the weekend same specks on that computer was £500
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 04:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: old system

no its a packard bell so im assuming she brought it from their site
Nick is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 05:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: old system

i dont like Packard bell they but loads of stuff on ur pc whihc u dont need
__________________

jay_bo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
System randomly auto-reset and auto-off/-on tbytes Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-11-2007 01:10 AM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.