Oh, What to do... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2010, 11:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Oh, What to do...

I think this fits best in this section.

I have a little home server, to backup stuff, stream videos. (not Hi def stuff)

Specs:
Intel D945GCLF2 (ITX)
Atom 33 @1.6Ghz
1GB DDR2 333Mhz

I have 2 HDDs in there, both WD6400AAKS 640GB. I have one split into a 30GB partition (OS), and the rest for storage. No optical drive, use external if needed.

The question is, should I put my SSD OCZ Vertex 30GB in there? I am guessing if I do this, that it will have less strain on the OS HDD? I currently have 16Gb free of my 29GB partition.

Now that I'm thinking about that, I am currently running Windows 7 Ultimate x64. (umm, think i made a boo-boo there when I did that, but it works fine :P) I am unfamiliar with any version of Windows Server. I tried to install some server version of Linux before (SUSE maybe?), and i got lost. I just need a GUI to get by. I do often need to remotely connect to it, being that it is headless. I can attach the VGA side of my monitor to it, but I often use it for repairing user's computers. It's a pain to go down there and disconnect it. I tried already, I cannot automatically remote connect it. Unless there is a program that lets you do that.

So suggest to me, what to do...
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 12:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Oh, What to do...

Okay let me see here.

a.) it is an Atom CPU. Not that powerful and made for low power consumption.
b.) how did you install 64 Bit Windows when the requirements are 2GB of RAM?
c.) why did you split 2x640 drives into 30GB partitions? That means you have to have somewhere around 22 partitions on each drive. Considering that any hard drive can have a max of 4 primary parititions you have 18 logical partitions or extended partitions? Seems like more work that it is worth.
d.) would installing a SSD onto a system with an Atom CPU and 1GB of RAM really be worth it? I mean your not going to utilize it that much more than what is already in there.

I dont see the point of installing a SSD Drive to that type of system. It is basically a netbook. Having an SSD in a netbook isnt going to gain you much as the system itself is slower compared to desktops, even of the lower range. But that is just my opinion.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Oh, What to do...

Get a KVM switch so you can access the server manually when you need to do so.

If you aren't using the SSD go ahead and drop it in there. If nothing else it will give you more storage space.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 02:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Oh, What to do...

@Mak
a) yeah, the reason I bought it, for low power consumption.
b) I don't know how I got it on theree.
c) Theres one 30Gb partition on the firs drive.
1st HDD, 30GB primary patition, 610GB secondary partition.
2nd HDD, 640GB partition.
Sorry if that came out in gibberish.
d) I'm not looking for performance here. I am looking at it in usage. As I said above, won't the SSD running the OS put the primary HDD at rest? The way I understand it, the non-OS drives slow down while not in use. True?

@Trotter- I hate those. No offense, they are great, but I have enough cables under my desk...

btw, I found out how to connect to Ubuntu on my netbook. VNC.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 04:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Oh, What to do...

Yes putting the OS on the SSD will put those drives to rest. It will also cause your SSD to get more read/write cycles put on it since it is a Server for all the PC's on the network. Since SSD drives only have a limited lifetime due to these read/write cycles arent you running the potential of having this drive die out when in use? I would think a mechanical drive would be more logical to use on a Server for this very reason. So that you dont run the risk of having the drive die from such limitations that the SSD's have.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 04:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Oh, What to do...

I only say it's a server, because that is what I use it for. It is not using more than regular Windows credentials. I ran the 30Gb SSD as a OS drive since Christmas of last year when I got it. It won't be using more cycles than a standard desktop.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 05:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Oh, What to do...

The choice is yours. I am merely pointing out the facts. You say it is a server cause that is what your using it for, that means it is getting more cycles than a standard desktop. A standard desktop would just access the drive and run the material. Instead now you not only have that machine having to access the data but another machine having access and getting data. That is more cycles. If you want to use it, use it. You dont have to listen to a single thing i said. I am just trying to warn you.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 06:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Oh, What to do...

I transfer stuff from this computer to other computers all the time. But I do not do it directly from the SSD. I don't see how passing a file from E:/ to my netbook could harm the SSDs cycles.

Doesn't the OS itself do many cycles?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.