OEM CPU's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2005, 07:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default OEM CPU's

What kind of packaging do they come in ?
__________________

chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 07:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

mine came in a little brown box with paddin holdin it in place. ive had 2oem cpus before and both have worked great, i refuse to buy a heatsink and fan that i never ever use
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 07:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

They come with a peice of paper that says CPU with a barcode on it, and some plastic packaging. And a half centimeter by 5 cm by 5 cm peice of padding
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 11:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

It should be in a protective blister pack.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default

i would definitely be careful buying any OEM CPU's these days...always try to buy Retail if you can.

i've just read an article that stated in malaysia, a few thousand CPU's were "stolen" from the factory and ppl tried to sell them as OEM and marked on the CPU's that they were faster than what they really were to get more money.

i.e., claimed they were selling Athlon 3200+ chips but really they ended up being 2800+ chips to unsuspecting ppl.

just be careful that's all.

i just play it safe and buy Retail when i can...you are certain of getting your warranty if anything goes wrong.

but after saying that...you can say that about any computer OEM hardware actually...
__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 05:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

hmmmmm well im buying off someone over the net that ive been palying cz with for quite a while. Its a 3200+ and hes selling it for £65 and its supposidly new. He says he knows someone who works for ebuyer.

But now youve said that, its kinda worrying. I think i might go with a 3000+ retail and be safe ... what do you think ?
chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 05:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

wow 3200+ for that...well I was gonna say cheap but I have no idea how much £65 is in US dollars. Assuming it was 2 us dollars for every pound and being $130 which would be like $20 cheaper than if you bought it from any online store...but I doubt the rate exchange is quite like that

EDIT: Tell him you want pictures, multiple pics, with his handwriting on a piece of paper with the date and time behind it so you know it's not a random pic. You need a closeup of the CPU so you can get the numbers off of it. That'll tell you what it is.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 05:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

£65 = $125

3200+ OEM normaly go for about £125 or something here which is about $240.
chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 05:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

oh aright so yeah it is almost double. Aright then it's not an insanely suspicious cheap deal, not for here anyway. For you that is indeed one helluva price difference, basically half that of what it normally should be.

Well like I said, I'd advise getting some pics of it so you can see the CPU which has writing on it which will tell you what it is.

It'd say like AMD3200+0438 right across the top
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 05:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

okie dokie i will see if i can get some pics. He was selling two to someone else aswell, a 3200+ and a 3500+ so i will see if they received the right ones etc.

The good thing is he said he would send it first, then when i get it i send the money.... so if its not the right thing, i guess i could just send it strate back
__________________

chrisgill369 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.