nv4_disp problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2005, 05:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
Unhappy nv4_disp problem

Hi, this is my first time here. For future reference, here are my specs:

Intel P4 (prescott) 3.2 GHz @ 3.58
Chaintech 128 MB nVidia GeForceFX 5900XT
120 GB Samsung SATA HDD
ASUS P4P800-E Deluxe
ASPIRE 500 watt PS

anyway, I recently switched over from my old powmax case to a brand new Aspire x-navigator 500 (all silver ). Anyway, besides a few power routing problems for the fan speed control, everything works great. Boots up, fully responsive, can get into BIOS and safemode just fine. However, if I try a normal windows boot (or last known good config) the thing more or less crashes. It will go past the POST screen, and into the windows boot screen with the blue bar. As soon as it's done loading and ready to go into the gui, the moniter acts like there's no signal, and about 10 seconds later a blue screen 'o death comes up saying there's a problem with the nv4_disp driver (caught in an infinite loop). I've tried updating the drivers (though i had the most recent ones, just to reinstall it, see if it made a difference) and I get nothing still.
I'm thinking there could be a problem with the card iteslf, mabye some static got to it or something, but it works fine in safe mode and everything else, so I'm leaning towards something from Windows. I'm not sure how a new case could affect the video card, and I don't really want to move all my parts back into my old case to test and see after spending 2 hours getting them into the new one.

Any suggestions of what I should do?

1337 Director is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
KorKwin's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293

You might have to reformat. Just backup all your 'important' files to a cd or something, then reformat. If it STILL does that, then you know it's a hardware problem.

It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976

Check that your RAM (and everything else for that matter) is properly/securely connected into the slots.
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.